Don’t let the wicked thieves win.

This isn’t the post I’d intended for today but I wanted to share this experience instead.

Most of you know I care for my Mom full time. The other stuff I do is meant to keep me functioning as an adult human. Some of it works.

There are times in the day when Mom is settled and happy watching TV, where I can  make a twenty minute dash to the local shops. This is simply so we have food on the table and all the other necessities .

Yesterday, as I got to the car I realized I’d forgotten something so came back. Mom was talking on the phone to someone. I guessed either the GP or perhaps the local pharmacy had called, both are very good at dealing with Mom, but as I listened to Mom’s repeated answers while the call continued that wasn’t it. I got close enough for Mom to see me. She waved the phone and said, “I can’t understand this woman. What does she want?”

After listening  on the phone for a moment or two, to a woman who told me she was a registered Microsoft member of staff, I grew horrified. This was a Phishing call; someone trying to get information for nefarious reasons regarding my computer—not only that, the wicked individual in her quest for details had tried to interrogate my eighty-two year old mother.

Incandescent doesn’t quite hit the mark.

I hope you understand when I say I am proud of myself that I didn’t swear and give the person a savage blast of the best curse words I know. I explained I couldn’t understand her well, said thank you, and put the phone down.

I know the people who get lured to work in this ugly and negative industry, one that simply causes pain for those abused, are poorly paid and work hours that should be banned. They have my sympathy and I hope soon their work environment improves their life opportunities. However, my disgust at any human being prodding a geriatric woman to try to get details of a computer is beyond calculation.

After few minutes to calm down I reported the call to the appropriate bodies. Not because I lost anything other than my cool, but just to let them know these people are currently targeting the area I live in. Will reporting the call do any good? I don’t know, but if it stops one other elderly person being abused in the way Mom was, then the report wasn’t wasted.

No graphics in this post as I simply couldn’t find one that might show you how I felt. All I can say is; if you fear any of your loved ones might be targeted by these people, try to teach them to be wary and cautious, explain they don’t have give any information and that the best thing they can do is to put the phone down. That way these wicked thieves can’t win.

Thanks for reading.

Daisy Banks

4 thoughts on “Don’t let the wicked thieves win.

  1. It’s so sad that this stuff goes on. My husband and I have gotten in the habit of never answering our phone unless we recognize the number (that Heaven’s for caller ID). It seems all we get anymore are robo calls or, most likely, those who are phishing. It’s especially disgusting when callers prey on the elderly. We have seen numerous reports of senior citizens in our community who have fallen prey to these shameful scams. I feel your frustration and your indignation, Daisy. Thank goodness you walked in when you did.

    • Truly, the event was an education for me. I’m so glad I returned from the car when I did. Mom couldn’t have told them anything important but they kept plugging away at it. Horrible.
      I expect they target the elderly or seniors who might be vulnerable, which is one of the reasons I reported it. These things go in clusters or patches. Thanks so much for commenting, Mae, and I hope your phone line is always free from those with ill intent.

  2. It was fate’s hand that you had to return inside. I understand what you felt. as it happened to us around here something similar. It wasn’t from Microsoft but another scam.
    The man pretended that my husband, was selected by our phone company as a winner of a huge prize as he was an old customer. I always considered myself the gullible one in the family, but I didn’t buy the lie. My husband was almost convinced it was true as the person gave some details and phished some from him. As I kept telling ,my husband not to trust such things, the man must have heard me and asked to talk with me. He told me to check a website where there are the winners. I Googled the given site, checked it and it was there. But the URL address was a bit different from that of phone company we are clients. I said we needed a couple of minutes to see what we’d decide and the man agreed to call later. I phoned the company and they told me it had no connection with them. I warned them about the scam made in their name.
    When I checked the internet that site was no longer valid!
    Oh, I forgot to say that in order to receive the money prize my husband had to go to the bank and pay the TVA of the sum in advance!
    So thieves are getting smarter every day.

    • Thanks for sharing, Carmen and for reading my blog too. I agree with you that the scams are getting more complex and I think it is easy for people to be lured in as your husband was. Thank goodness he had you whispering those warnings in his ear. I guess the moral of both stories is you can never be too careful over things like this. I’m very glad you escaped the scam. The woman who called me said she was from Microsoft but it was a lie. Microsoft never phone people.

Comments are closed.