No experience goes to waste.

No experience goes to waste.

Daisy_chain

An interesting thing about writing is how it impacts on the mind. No experience good or bad ever goes to waste. Each small element of a situation or incident is ripe for use on the page. Every emotion is something to treasure and try to recapture in words—all grist to the mill of the author exploring the world of and with words. The last few weeks I’ve had an interesting education in discovering the many nuances of being in pain. The shade and light of this physical sensation is something most writers explore in one way or another and I thought I’d share some of the words that might be used to describe it.

I am sure you can add to this list but here are some of the ones I’ve been thinking about. I think the worst level of pain in them is relentless. Which one do you think carries the most weight?

Pain

Ache

Aggravate

Agony

Agonizing

Anguish

Annoy

Blister

Burn

Chafe

Constant

Continual

Damaged

Discomfort

Dreadful

Excruciating

Gnaw

Harsh

Hurt

Inexorable

Inflame

Irritate

Insistent

Insupportable

Insufferable

Itch

Intolerable

Pang

Persistent

Piercing

Prickle

Nag

Relentless

Ruthless

Severe

Sharp

Smart

Sore

Sting

Tear

Tender

Terrible

Throb

Toe-curling

Torment

Tweak

Twinge

Unbearable

Uncomfortable

Unendurable

Unremitting

Thanks for reading.

Daisy Banks

 

4 thoughts on “No experience goes to waste.

  1. Daisy, I’m sorry to hear that you post is inspired by actual discomfort. You came up with an amazing group of descriptive words. I just went through some extreme lower back issues not that long ago and two of the words I recall using to describe my pain level were “crippling” and “debilitating.” Fortunately, I am mostly recovered and am now only experiencing “twinges.” Fingers crossed that the acupuncture works for you!

    • Thanks for commenting, Mae. I’m glad to know you are recovered. Yes, debilitating is a good descriptive. I’m hoping the accupuncture does the trick and turns the pain off. I’ll let you know what happens.

  2. Oh, what a list, Daisy! I can’t think of one you haven’t mentioned here. Yes, pain, depending on the context, can be used by authors in one of these forms. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks for commenting, Carmen. The list has grown as each day passes. I’m going to get some accupuncture to try to control things. I don’t want to spend
      my days all groggy because of the meds.

Comments are closed.