Tuesday Treat. A snippet from Christmas Carols.

mince pies

Welcome to Tuesday Treat.

I haven’t offered you a treat for a couple of weeks as there have been other things going on here. But with the Christmas holiday approaching fast and as I’m beginning to feel a bit seasonal I thought you might like a snippet from Christmas Carols.

HRchristmascarols

Click the cover to buy.

Enjoy.

The door creaked as Alice pushed it.
“Oh my!”
“What?” But he didn’t need her answer as an icy flake hit his face. “Snow.”
“Yes, and so heavy. I do think you should make your way home, Stephen, rather than accompany me. The road is covered already and can only get worse.” The wind whipped her words to him.
“No, I’ll walk with you, Alice. I would hate for you to take a tumble.” A rustle and loud click, followed by the sudden absence of the freezing assault on his face told him she had put up her umbrella. She set her hand back on his arm and they took the two steps down to the churchyard path.
“The paving is dreadfully slippery.”
“We’ll go slowly.” The pathway, as she said, proved treacherous and he almost lost his footing. She grabbed at him so they both lurched. He laughed as they steadied. “Forgive me, but we must look a pair.”
“I doubt there is anyone to see, Stephen. The last of the choristers have gone. I can scarce see anything as the snow is falling so fast.”
“Hmm. We might take a little longer than usual to get to your house.”
She tightened her grip on his arm. “One bit at a time. We need to get to the churchyard gate and then the street.”
The snowflakes blasted his cheeks each time her umbrella moved with her steps, and already his ears tingled with the raw wind.
Blue walked on in the inclement weather but the dog had slowed his pace for them.
They stepped down into the road and trod slowly across, and then stepped up the other side to an equally icy pavement. Chill damp spread in his boots and his toes prickled.
They paused and Alice turned him around to face the other way against the snow for a few moments respite. “I am sorry, Stephen, I’m unsure of the direction. I can scarce see at all. The snow is swirling under the umbrella and the wind is so ferocious.”
“Exhilarating isn’t it,” he said. “I can’t recall ever being in snow like this.”
“I think it rather frightening. We need to turn back again. I know the road is right
because there is another lamppost. It is just a little way on. Are you ready?”
“Yes, come, Blue.”
He turned back into the fierce wind and Alice altered his direction a little before clinging tight to his arm. Her umbrella provided moments of fractional protection against some of the wild flurries. Their path now became more perilous as they tried to make their way up the hill. He placed each footstep with care but still slid in places. Alice gave a little gasp each time her footing slipped.
“Let me put my arm around your waist, Alice, I can steady you better that way, and don’t complain of anyone noticing us, please. I’d rather shock the town populace than let you get a twisted ankle or worse.”
She sniffed. “Yes, please.”
He moved her arm from his and found her waist. He slid his arm around her, astonished she should be this slender. “Now you put your arm around me and then we set off again. Does Blue look all right?”
“Yes. Poor Blue, he looks as cold and miserable as we must.”
Strangely, with her in his embrace, and with the pressure of her arm around his waist, Stephen could think of very many other times when he had been far more miserable than tonight.

Thanks for reading.

Daisy Banks

 

Daisy Banks is the author of:
Serving the Serpent
Christmas Carols
Marked for Magic
To Eternity
A Perfect Match
Timeless
Valentine Wishes
A Gentleman’s Folly
Your Heart My Soul
Fiona’s Wish
A Matter of Some Scandal
Daisy Banks writes a regular monthly story in the Sexy to Go compilations.

 

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Treat. A snippet from Christmas Carols.

  1. Daisy, I positively adored Christmas Carols. It’s a wonderful read for this time of year, with a sweet romance, its Victorian setting, and engaging characters. Indeed, a treat!

Comments are closed.