“Toad again, Mother.”

My apologies my usual posts haven’t been made the last couple of days. I hurt my back while doing housework and it has been very uncomfortable to sit at my desk. I’d prepared a new recipe page for you which is up on the Cooking and Recipes pages.

The recipe is one based on a childhood memory from when I visited my grandmother’s house. As Gran couldn’t read well her recipes were all stored in her head which makes exact measurements a bit difficult. Even so the meals she made were the traditional filling staples that didn’t cost a great deal. I can remember laughing when my uncle, then a young man marched into the kitchen and looked at the dish Gran had just taken out of the oven.

“Toad again, Mother!”

The dish he referred to is Toad in the Hole some of you may know it. If you don’t I’d encourage you to take a look at the recipe page and find out about it. All I will say here is that no toads are harmed in the process of making Toad in the Hole.

Thanks for reading.

Daisy Banks

8 thoughts on ““Toad again, Mother.”

  1. So sorry to hear you hurt your back, Daisy. Do take it easy and rest up. I have to admit I’d never heard of Toad in the Hole before and when I checked your recipe page it was one I wasn’t familiar with. Consider me educated, LOL! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks, Mae. If you try the recipe let me know if it works for you. I was concerned with the measurements because I just make it like gran did. I do it without thinking so to try to put
      it down for peopel was more of a challenge than I anticipated.

  2. Ruth would love a dish with actual Toad . LOL She hunts for them daily in the garden. Lizards and frogs as well, anything for those? So sorry to hear about your bad back. Total bother I bet. Feel better old friend.
    Also, and I’m sure this is all me, I can’t find the recipe page??? Where should I look?

  3. Sorry to hear you are under the weather Diasy – please take care of yourself. And yes I remember “Toad in the Hole” fondly ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.