Tuesday Treat from Christmas Carols.

nice strawberry ladyWelcome to Tuesday Treat. Your treat today comes from my newest book.

Christmas Carols, a sweet Victorian love story, went up for pre-order yesterday.

Click the cover to order it with a 20% earlybird discount.

Enjoy.

HRchristmascarols

Excerpt

The lilies sat in one of the small alcoves right on the other side of the nave. As far from their original position at the bottom of the steps leading to the organ as was possible. She tutted as she crossed the nave to pick up the large arrangement to take it back to where it belonged. “I’ll have to speak to the verger and find out who moved them.”
The tall flowers blocked her view, so she took small slow steps.
“Good morning, Mrs. Broadbrace.”
She peered around the side of the floral display. “Good morning, Mr. Grafton. I must say I greatly enjoyed your performance last night.”
He sneezed and sniffed. “Please tell me, madam, is your presence always announced with flowers? I can smell lilies.”
“No, and yes, sir. I’m just placing this arrangement back where it belongs. Someone had moved them.”
“I know. I asked Oswald to remove them before the recital last night.”
She set the flowers down. “I don’t understand, sir.”
He took off his hat. Several strands of his fair hair stood up. The dog sat at his side. “The matter is quite simple, ma’am. I have an aversion to lilies. They have a debilitating effect.”
“Lilies?”
“Well, all flowers to be truthful, but lilies more than most. I must ask you to refrain from using them in the displays you place anywhere near my seat at the organ.”
“Oh.”
“If you’d be so kind could you remove them at once?” He sneezed again.
“I’ve never heard the like.”
An expression that might have been a smile rose on his face. “I’m sure I am not the only individual to suffer from the symptoms they induce.”
“Of course I’ll take them away, Mr. Grafton. May I ask, are there any flowers that don’t affect you?”
He pursed his lips and tapped one finger against the cane in his hand. Several seconds passed until he spoke. “Daisies, I believe they cause no reaction at all.”
“I can’t possibly acquire daisies this time of year!”
“Then perhaps you can turn your thoughts to using something else in your displays?”

Blurb

Stephen Grafton, the blind organist at Holy Trinity Church, is gaining a reputation for his fine playing and compositions. Alice Broadbrace’s initial venture back into society after years in deep mourning brings her to the notice of the talented organist, and he offers her the opportunity to sing a solo carol to his accompaniment. His courage convinces her to find her own, while her charm entices him into thoughts of romance. A difficult walk in a snow storm is only the beginning of Stephen and Alice’s journey to happiness. Enjoy this sweet Victorian tale of talent and love blossoming.

Thanks for reading.

Daisy Banks

6 thoughts on “Tuesday Treat from Christmas Carols.

  1. A lovely snippet I thoroughly enjoyed. Thanks for sharing it with us, Daisy, and best of luck with the release!

  2. I’m really looking forward to this one, Daisy. Sweet romance is my speed and I love Christmas stories. I’ll be grabbing my copy from Amazon as soon as it becomes available. Thanks for the lovely treat!

    • Thanks for commenting, Mae. I hope you enjoy Christmas Carols when you read it. I think it’s about the sweetest thing I’ve done yet.

Comments are closed.