Something entirely different.

Today you can find me at https://silkensheetsandseduction.wordpress.com/blog/ with an excerpt from Rewriting the Law, my story in Sexy to Go Volume 6, while here I have something different for you. This post isn’t about writing, nor about a new book but about another interest I have and enjoy sharing, cooking.
I am certain there are people who visit here who too enjoy cooking but this post isn’t just about the fun side of making cakes or savoury nibbles and was prompted by a conversation I had with a young girl in a shop. This young lady who was a very competent shop assistant shared with me her pride and delight in having learned to make corned beef hash. It’s not a meal I make but I understood her sense of accomplishment in that she could make the dish herself. Why the blog post about it? The reason is she told me she had never been taught to cook. Unfortunately her mother had passed away at a young age and this young lady had no one to teach her cooking skills. She wasn’t taught any in school either. She’d put toppings on a pizza, opened a can of beans and made toast, and that was the sum total of cooking knowledge imparted. What a tragedy.

beans_on_toast

It would seem the girl I met in the shop is not alone either. My own niece has asked for cake baking lessons. I’ve said I’m happy to teach her and in the next week or so I’ll visit and we’ll bake so she is confident enough to make cakes on her own.
I wonder if any of you are surprised by the above. I was when I understood what that young girl in the shop meant, and my niece too. I do hope cooking somehow makes its way back into schools as it is such an important life skill. In the next few weeks I’ll be adding a page or two here with some recipes for people to share. I’ll let you know when they go up.

Thanks for reading.
Daisy Banks

8 thoughts on “Something entirely different.

  1. I’m so glad the girl found solace and accomplishment in mastering her dish. In school, home ec was mandatory. However, I do not have the innate knack for it that my mother did. My husband often made wonderful spontaneous dishes with secret ingredients. Interesting post.

    • Thanks for commenting, Flossie. I love spontaneous dishes. My husband never cooked, sometimes he watched but he never cooked. I really felt for that girl.
      It was so obvious she wanted to cook and had struggled to make the dish that she associated with childhood comfort. I was surprised that no one had taught her.

  2. Not surprised at all. Esp. when our schools have cut everything but the basics, it’s no wonder our young people have little critical thinking skills, and here is yet another example of such.
    My own mother had no interest nor time to spend in the kitchen, as she was a pianist and out of the house so much. I grew up in a Italian/Greek neighborhood full of large families where one more helping hand in the kitchen was just fine. I am not a great cook but I am competent around a kitchen. Baking became a joy for me. I taught my self and there were MANY trials, errors, and laughs. Baking is more of an exact science, isn’t it, and until one understands that,( and what happens when one messes about with the backing soda and powder amts.), one can have no appreciation of this fact. Until they experience a mistake, LOL.
    I think it’s great that you’ll be baking! I bet your mum will enjoy the benefits as well as your nieces family. Perhaps a good place to begin is to have her look into baking powder and baking soda and how they relate to baking before she gets there? I would have faired much better if I’d had a working understanding , I laugh as I think back at the mistakes. Have a great time and let us know how it all turns out.

    • Thanks for commenting, Sunny. Yes, baking soda and baking powder are helpful tools. Mom will come with me when I visit Lucy and will probably taste the results. We are starting simple with little fairy cakes and then will work up to a bigger sponge. BTW there are no fairies in the ingredient list for fairy cakes. 🙂

  3. I admit I’m only passable when it comes to a creating food in the kitchen. There are a few reasons for that….my mother worked, so never had the time to teach me when I was kid, then as an adult it never interested me. Recently, I have been doing a lot more cooking then before, but I think you have to have a passion for something to be really good at it. I’m just “ok” as a cook, and I’m TERRIBLE at baking!

    • Thanks for commenting, Mae. Mom’s are so important to teach cooking skills. My mom was good at pastry and she taught me that but my cookery teacher was horrified I used lard instead of margarine in the pastry. I refused to change and when the pastry was cooked she agreed it worked beautifully. How are you terrible at baking? Do things not rise? Collapse? I’ll try to post some tips. I think kneading dough for bread or buns is the most theraputic thing. I pound away at it sometimes I think it’s a better work out than I’d do in the gym.

  4. Things are similar around Romania, too. I can’t say I’ve ever been a great housewife. That is, I cooked and cleaned and washed because I had to do it not because I enjoyed or found it relaxing.Would you believe if I told you that when I was a gymnasium and high-school pupil we, girls, had lessons of carpentry and then locksmith practice? However I taught my two daughters some recipes I, in my turn, learned from my mother and grandmother. And it came in handy when they got married. I try, from time to time, new recipes and am delighted when my husband says “You should make this some other time too”.
    Unfortunately schools do not prepare, even after Ceausescu’s fall, the young generation for practical things. They teach all sort of useless things. As a former teacher I know from the inside of the system. So no wonder. I can hardly wait so see your recipes.

    • Thanks for commenting, Carmen. I too am not a great housewife I do enjoy cooking though. You were lucky to get lessons in caprentry and locksmithing, we got nothing practical like that. No one taught the use of basic household tools either. Yes, it is satisfying if the family enjoy something you make. I’ll have some recipes up by next week.

Comments are closed.