Guest Post Myth and Magic from Mae Clair.

I am delighted to welcome Mae Clair to the blog with her fabulous new book.

Myth and Magic.

Myth And Magic-highres

Do You Remember Watching Scooby-Doo? by Mae Clair

I’d like to thank Daisy Banks for letting me hijack her blog today. I’m delighted to be here, on one of my regular “haunts.”

Don’t laugh, but when I was a kid, I was riveted by Scooby-Doo. Saturday mornings I was glued to the TV, because I knew I was going to get a mesmerizing dose (hey, I was a kid!) of mystery, ghosts, and spookiness. I admit that sometimes Shaggy got on my nerves, but there was never a moment when I DIDN’T want to be part of the group in the Mystery Machine, going around investigating all those bizarre houses and strange monsters.

I don’t think I ever outgrew that desire, which probably explains my ongoing interest in folklore, urban legends, and cryptozoology (think Bigfoot and the Loch Ness Monster). For my latest release, MYTH AND MAGIC, a romantic suspense/mystery novel set during Halloween, I got a chance to indulge my love of spooky houses and rumored hauntings. Check out the blurb to see what I mean:

AS CHILDREN THEY PLAYED GAMES OF MYTH AND MAGIC…

Veronica Kent fell in love with Caith Breckwood when they were children. As a teenager, she was certain he was the man she was destined to marry. But a traumatic event from Caith’s past led him to fear a future together. He left Veronica, hoping to save her from a terrible fate. Twelve years later, Caith, now a P.I., is hired to investigate bizarre incidents at the secluded retreat Veronica manages. Returning to his hometown, Caith is forced to face his nightmares—and his feelings for the woman he’s always loved.

THEN ONE DAY THE MONSTERS BECAME REAL.

After the callous way Caith broke her heart, Veronica isn’t thrilled to see him again. But strange occurrences have taken a dangerous toll on business at Stone Willow Lodge. Forced to work together, Veronica discovers it isn’t ghostly apparitions that frighten her, but her passion for a man she has never forgotten. Or forgiven. Can two people with a tarnished past unearth a magical future?

~ooOOoo~

But if you know me and my stories, you know I’d never be satisfied with something so straightforward. Which is why MYTH AND MAGIC has a few subplots involving family estrangement, past regrets, tragedy and, well….you’ll just need to read the book to find out what else. There’s an equal blend of romance, mystery, and suspense.

And did I mention HALLOWEEN? I always wanted to write a novel centered around that holiday. It might be June, but there’s nothing like a bit of pumpkin-weather and whispers of gobbly-ghouls to put a bit of October mystery into your summer!

MYTH AND MAGIC is available from all of these booksellers:

Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Kobo
iTunes
Google
Kensington Publishing

About the Author:

Mae Clair

Mae Clair opened a Pandora’s Box of characters when she was a child and never looked back. Her father, an artist who tinkered with writing, encouraged her to create make-believe worlds by spinning tales of far-off places on summer nights beneath the stars.
Mae loves creating character-driven fiction in settings that vary from contemporary to mythical. Wherever her pen takes her, she flavors her stories with mystery and romance. Married to her high school sweetheart, she lives in Pennsylvania and is passionate about cryptozoology, old photographs, a good Maine lobster tail and cats.
You can find Mae Clair at any of the following haunts:
Website
Blog
Twitter (@MaeClair1)
Google+
Facebook Author Page
Amazon Author Page
Kensington Books Author Page
Goodreads
Pinterest

15 thoughts on “Guest Post Myth and Magic from Mae Clair.

  1. I totally get it. Scooby Doo sparked my interest in crime. Like you, I was riveted by the show. Seems funny now. Again…Myth and Magic sounds awesome!!!

  2. That is so cool, Mae. I used to be riveted to them, watching with my son. I think I loved it more than he did. LOL I also love the Loch Ness Monster, Big Foot…Thanks for sharing your thoughts.
    sherry @ fundinmental

    • Sherry, we love a lot of the same things! I remember discovering one of my favorite reads, The Delta River Monster thanks to your blog. Creatures are every bit as thrilling ( if not more so) than Scooby. Thanks so much for visiting me here with Daisy and sharing. 🙂

  3. Hi Daisy. Hi Mae, I pre-ordered Myth and Magic. I’m looking forward to reading it this weekend. As always, your books are intriguing and suspenseful. A truly great read every time! Congrats on this new release. Happy sales!

    • Hi, Alicia *waving madly* so wonderful to see you here, and so thrilled you preordered Myth and are looking forward to the read. Yay! Can you believe how many years have passed since our first Savvy class together? Thank you so much for your wonderful friendship and support. I hope you enjoy my latest offering. 🙂

  4. Scooby-Doo? I’m not laughing at you, I’m laughing WITH you! Ah, the lovely days of childhood that never let go of our imagination! Great post and great book, Mae!

    • Ah, thanks, Debbie. I positively love the magic and whimsy of childhood and Scooby was part of that for me. I guess I’ve just always been in love with mysteries and rumored hauntings. So glad you’re enjoying Myth! 🙂

  5. Myth and Magic offered me pleasant moments for which I am deeply grateful to the author, Mae Clair. Thank you, Mae!

Comments are closed.