Tuesday Treat from Christmas Carols.

 nice strawberry lady

Welcome to Tuesday Treat and today I am sharing a little excerpt from my forthcoming release with Liquid Silver Books. Christmas Carols. This is a sweet, Victorian, love story. I hope you enjoy this excerpt.

HRchristmascarolsExcerpt

Not again! The heavy fragrance of lilies wafted up to Stephen where he sat ready to begin the final rehearsal for the evening’s recital. He sneezed. “Who is there?” “Oh, Mr. Grafton, good afternoon. I am Mrs. Broadbrace. I have come to arrange some flowers. I do apologize if I’m disturbing you.” “You were here yesterday, were you not?” “Yes, I was.” “Hmm. Is it your intention to spend a great deal of time here arranging flowers in the church?” A rustle and chink followed by another blast of scent told him she’d put the darn lilies down. “I don’t intend to be here every day, sir. However, with the holy season almost upon us there are decisions I must make about the floral work. I’ll need to order flowers for the arrangements for the Advent services and some for the Christmas Day service, too. There are also two weddings. I would have thought Mr. Francis might have said. I’m sure he’ll be expecting you to play.” Stephen sneezed again and sucked in a breath. Damn the woman’s impertinence and her overpowering lilies. “I’m well aware of the weddings and of the seasonal catalogue of music the vicar requires. All I need is peace and quiet to rehearse the pieces for my performance tonight. That includes not being disturbed by the building of floral tributes.” “I am working as quietly as I can, Mr. Grafton.” A sniff followed her words, and a wave of discomfort rose. He’d neither the right nor need to be quite so abrupt. From the timbre of her voice she didn’t fit into the matronly group of females who so often gave their time to the church. This lady sounded little more than a girl, young enough to expect some chivalry, even from such as him. “Accept my apologies, Mrs. Broadbrace. I am finding today’s rehearsal a trial. I’ll leave you to get on and I’ll take a short walk.” He felt along the bench beside him and picked up the leather leash. “Come, Blue, time for a walk.”

 Blurb

Stephen Grafton, the blind organist at Holy Trinity Church, is gaining a reputation for his fine playing and compositions. Alice Broadbrace’s initial venture back into society after years in deep mourning brings her to the notice of the talented organist, and he offers her the opportunity to sing a solo carol to his accompaniment. His courage convinces her to find her own, while her charm entices him into thoughts of romance. A difficult walk in a snow storm is only the beginning of Stephen and Alice’s journey to happiness. Enjoy this sweet Victorian tale of talent and love blossoming.

As yet there are no buy links or pre-order links. As soon as I get some I’ll let you know.

Thanks for reading.

On a personal note-I am dealing with some difficult circumstances at present and am not posting here as often as I usually do. I hope to get back to normal by the end of this month. Thanks for stopping by.

Daisy Banks

6 thoughts on “Tuesday Treat from Christmas Carols.

  1. I love sweet romantic tales, Daisy, and am really looking forward to this one.

    Sending you wishes that everything works out on the personal side.

  2. I remember this sweet romance! Glad you’ve returned to it. Look forward to it’s release.

Comments are closed.