Time for Tarot. The High Priestess.

High Priestess

This card is from the Gilded Tarot deck, one of my favourites. Cick to buy a pack.

Welcome to Time for Tarot and the card today is the High Priestess.

I drew this card a day or so ago in a reading, and so I thought I’d share my thoughts about the card and what I know of it’s meaning.

Where to begin with this beguiling, intriguing and beautiful card? The High Priestess occurs early in the tarot journey. She is linked to the goddess of the moon and to the feminine influence so important in our lives. Some link her to Athena, goddess of wisdom, others see her as the universal feminine, and other see her as an earthly link to a place between the world and the skies. She offers the chance for us to look to the beyond while encouraging us to still keep our feet on the ground.

To me this card is indicative of an important time or occurence and one where not everything is in plain sight. The High Priestess uses her innate wisdom, her intuition and wisdom gained through much experience, and her appearance urges you to do the same.

Psychic happenings are sometimes linked to the appearance of the High Priestess, if nothing more, pay attention to your dreams for in them she can speak to you offering her wisdom. You might feel a strong desire to meditate on any issues bothering you, or at least spend some time in quiet contemplation, for the High Priestess urges you to discover your connection to the eternal.

There is so much meaning to this card I can’t cover all of it in this one brief post. I would urge you to research further and to meditate with your focus on this card to see what its meaning is for you.

I would love to have your thoughts on this card. Do share them with me.

A reversed appearance of the High Priestess can mean your inner voice of wisdom is blocked, or you may not be hearing it, you may be concentrating on the sensual rather than the spiritual elements of knowledge the High Priestess keeps..  Even when the card is reversed it is still a powerful card to have in any reading.

Thanks for reading.

Daisy B

6 thoughts on “Time for Tarot. The High Priestess.

  1. What a beautiful vision of Mystery, Magic, Wisdom and Feminine Power! The High Priestess “Knows” all and keeps the records! Thank you for the reading!

  2. This is one of my favorite tarot cards, and oh how exquisite she is in the deck you are using! I love the idea of her being between the world and the skies, just a breath away from us. Thank you for your tarot posts. I always learn something.

    • Thanks for commenting, Flossie. I love this image because its not the traditional one of her, but you are right she is between the worlds in many senses.
      I’m glad you like the posts.

  3. Beautiful wash of blues, greens and lavenders. Very mystical. It reminds me of some of the artwork that was popular when I was a teen. My friends and I loved images like this reflected under black lights. 🙂

Comments are closed.