A woman with a sword in her hand.

Mademoiselle_Maupin_de_l'Opéra_(Julie_d'Aubigny)      Images from Wikipedia              Beardsley_de_Maupin_BW

My latest historical has proved entertaining to write so far. The heroine is a young lady in great need of education and as I researched a suitable curriculum for such a headstrong young woman I discovered some ladies took up fencing as a sport. This discovery frees me to write of fencing lessons for my heroine and gives a reality to the story I had hoped to use.

I have to admit to sometimes getting irritated with females leads in films as they stomp about in boots waving a sword trying to convince us they know what they are doing. Here, I have found something much more realistic, the opera singer and fencing mistress,  Julie Aubigny. You can read about her life, exploits, the gossip about her lifestyle too, here.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Julie_d%27Aubigny

This little bit of research took me deeper into discovering about women who fenced and even took part in duels.

duel-topless-bayard-two1     You can find out more about the emancipated duels and the women who took part in them at this informative website.  http://www.fscclub.com/history/duel-topl-e.shtml

Émile Bayard.Painting and Postcards. An Affair of Honor

 

4 thoughts on “A woman with a sword in her hand.

    • Thanks for commenting, Flossie. I think you’ll love Miss Evangaline Fairchild, heiress, conwoman, compatriot of pirates, deva with horses and queenly with her blade.

Comments are closed.