Visualise it.

 

My post today is about one of the parts of writing I sometimes struggle with which is visualisation of a scene.

AGentlemansFolly_600x800

What I mean is seeing the scene in my head and getting it down on the page well enough for readers to see it too. When the process works it’s great fun but when I struggle it forces me to work very hard. One of the reasons I love the cover of A Gentleman’s Folly my story with Liquid Silver books is because the image says so much.

Things I use to help me visualise a scene.

Smells, incense sometimes helps, or a waft of a fragrance like orange.

Textures help me too, the smoothness of polished wood, the touch of fine linen too.

I use some real objects to help me visualise and also a lot of images to help my mind along in the description of a scene.

Once I have the sense of the scene in my head then I try to transfer it to the page.

I wonder what other writers use to help them visualise where their characters are?

You can find me on the web here:

Blog https://daisybanks.wordpress.com/
Website http://daisybanksnovels.yolasite.com/
Twitter @DaisyBanks12
Facebook http://on.fb.me/18iRC35
Pinterest http://bit.ly/16sF1XG

4 thoughts on “Visualise it.

  1. I like to have aids to help me visualise scenes, I print out sheets with images that will help me and spread them about myself so as I can immerse myself in it ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I LOVE the cover of A Gentleman’s Folly. It’s my favorite ๐Ÿ™‚
    Visualization and description are a few of the things that come fairly easily for me as a writer. I rarely have a problem immersing myself in the sights, scents, and textures of a scene, but if I do get stuck, I usually look to a visual prompt for help. I think every writer has their own little bag of tricks that inspires us when we stall!

    • Thanks for commenting, Mae. I too think all writers have their own ways of making a scene real so they can write it.
      I’m glad you like the cover for A Gentleman’s Folly, I think the girl has such amazing eyes.

Comments are closed.