Guest Post Hearts in Harmony from Gemma Brocato

Hearts In Harmony
Gemma Brocato

 

Hearts in Harmony Cover copy

A Lyrical Press Contemporary Romance

Hiya, Daisy.
Thanks for inviting me for a visit. I hope you don’t mind that I brought Pippa’s children, Mason and Mia along with me. They’re great kids, but inclined to speak their minds. I hope they’ll behave for you.

You’re most welcome, Gemma and an interview with two junior characters from a story is a first for the blog. I’m sure everyone will love these two.

So tell me a little bit about (story) and characters. Where did the story come from?
Mason: Ms. Gemma decided to feature me and Mia in her next book after we kind of stole the show in my Uncle Jack’s story. This is supposed to be a story about Mom and Mr. Clay and how they fall in love. We introduced them, you know. If I hadn’t left my backpack at the Christmas tree farm, they might not have decided they like each other. My mom has been sad a lot, because my dad died in the war. She’s been protective of us, but she’s been alone for a long time.
Mia: She had us, Mason. And Uncle Jack, Uncle Sam and Uncle Noah. And don’t forget Grandma and Grandpa. We’re enough. My mom is never sad. Uncle Sam says she’s a Pollyanna.

Do you have a favorite scene or character from the book?
Mason: I liked when we got to hang out at the farm with Mr. Clay and feed the chickens. I also got to play with his dog, and Mr. Clay’s mom. Mrs. Seeley had a brain attack and forgot how to walk or use her arm. But I helped her remember hot to throw a stick. Even though I told her it was stupid that she forgot how. **Lowers his voice confidentially** Mom wasn’t happy that I said that.
Mia: But Mason, Mr. Clay explained it and Mrs. Seeley didn’t mind. **she bounces in her chair** My favorite part was when Mom and Mason got lost at the Farmer’s Market and Mr. Clay helped me find them. We talked about pumpkins and colors. He held my hand.
Mason: **waves his hand wildly in the air** Wait, I have a more favorite scene. Well, not scene, but a thing that happened one night. We got our special trees from the farm, and planted them one night. The next day, they’d grown five feet tall. They are magical. Mommy cried a little when we discovered them. But they were happy tears. Do you remember that, Mia?
Mia: Well, duh, Mason. I was there, don’t you remember?

Was there anything Ms. Gemma wrote that you didn’t like?
Mia: **a sad look on her face** I didn’t like it when Ms. Gemma wrote about Mom’s friend, Sarah. She lost her husband in the war, just like my dad. Mommy was so sad for Sarah. I don’t like it when Mommy cries, because she always laughs and smiles, even when she’s mad about something I did. Like when I accidentally let the bad man into our house.
Mason: **puts his arm protectively around Mia’s shoulders** You didn’t mean to, Mia. She really didn’t. But because she did, the bad man made my mom tie us up while he sent her on an errand. I didn’t like that. **he preens the way only a six year-old can** But I rescued us, even Mr. Clay. The bad guy tied him up too.

Weren’t you in Ms. Gemma’s first book, Cooking Up Love?
Mason :**nodding vigorously** Yes! We got to go to a hockey game and help when Jem opened her new café.
Mia: I got to be the hostess and show everyone to their table. Ms. Gemma said we were too cute and she had to put us in the very next story about our family.

Are you happy with how everything turned out?
Mia: Oh, yes. Mommy and Mr. Clay—
Mason: Stop Mia. You know we’re sworn to secrecy. Mommy will be mad if you tell.

Would you care for a sequel?
Mason: Well, Ms. Gemma didn’t invite us back for her next book, but she promises we can come out to play again in book 5. Maybe even book 4.
Mia: She told me she’s going to write a short story about all of us next. She told Mommy and Mr. Clay she wants to finish our story properly **rolls her eyes** Whatever that means.

**Ms. Gemma interrupts** Okay, kids. That’s enough. Your mom is waiting outside to take you home. Tell Ms. Daisy thank you for letting you visit today.
Mason and Mia: **together** Thank you, Ms. Daisy.

You are most welcome, Mason and Mia. Do take a cookie from the jar on your way out.

Aren’t they adorable? They helped me pick out the gifts in the Harmonious Hearts Swag Pack. Mia tried to hide the heart-shaped notes because she really liked them. And Mason pretended the bookmark was a sword. Boys will be boys, right? Anyway, they want you to know you can enter to win all the goodies through the Rafflecopter link below. And feel free to ask any questions of them. They do like to talk.

Thanks, Daisy for having us all over today.
Rafflecopter.

Gemma has a rafflecopter giveaway which you can reach here. http://www.gemmabrocato.com/

Blurb
Sometimes life’s most simple melodies become songs of love. Pippa Sanders’ life is filled with songs of leaving, longing and loneliness. Since the death of her husband, her children have been her world. She’ll do anything to protect them, including encasing her heart in ice until they’re college age. She’s made a practice of shying away from any relationship that could break her heart when it ends. And it’s worked so far. Clay Mathers has made a temporary move to Granite Pointe, Massachusetts to help with his mother’s Christmas tree farm while she recovers from a stroke. Although his long-range plans don’t include staying in the small town, a little female companionship during his short residency would be welcome. While on duty as sentry against protestors at a military funeral, he finds Pippa visiting her husband’s grave, and begins a campaign to make her into a friend–with benefits. What starts as a simple affair evolves to something more, something that changes the soundtracks of both their lives…the beating of two hearts in harmony. CONTENT WARNING: Contains strong language, hot sex and a spicy hero.

Excerpt

Well, what do you know? Mia, Pippa’s daughter, had the same dark curls as her mother but her eyes flashed chocolate brown when she looked at him and her grin grew wider. “I know you! You’re Mr. Clay,” she said. “Did you hear ’bout the magic trees you gave us? They grew overnight to this tall.” Mia stretched her hands high over her head to demonstrate.
“Pretty amazing, huh? Your mom sent pictures of them because I didn’t believe it.”
“Do you want to come over to see them?”
“You better ask if it’s okay first.” He scanned the crowd looking for Pippa. “Where is your mom?”
Mia turned a circle looking for her mom. “Uh-oh. I think she’s lost.”
Laughter ripped out of his mouth. “She’s lost? Sorry kid, I bet your mom knows exactly where she is, but is probably worried out of her mind that you’re lost.”
“But I know right where I am.” She continued counting pumpkins. “Orange is my mom’s favorite color. Mason’s is purple and mine is pink.” Mia looked at him and tilted her tiny head to the side. “What’s yours?”
“Green,” he answered without hesitation, “like Christmas trees.”
Who knew talking to a six-year-old would be such an eye-opening experience? He hadn’t remembered having a favorite color in years and his rapid answer to the little cutie’s question amazed him. Even more than the fact that he’d linked the color to the trees she knew he grew. Mia’s wide grin caught him by surprise and tugged at his heart. The kid was just too damn cute.
“Do you think we should look for your mom?”
Mia shifted her gaze to the booths around them, then lifted suddenly anxious eyes to his. “Will you help me? I don’t see her.”
“What’s she wearing?” His eyes drifted over the crowd, looking for the familiar cap of shiny black curls.
“Oh! Today she’s wearing green, like your favorite color.”
Huh. Such an arbitrary thing shouldn’t make him grin. No way could the spitfire know about his attraction to the color. Shit, he hadn’t realized himself, not until this pint-sized replica of Pip asked him.
“I’d be glad to help. Is there a place your mom said to go if you got separated?”
“Oh, yeah! The cider stand. We’re going to get some to take home. Do you like cider?”
“I do, kiddo. What do you say we head that way and see if we can find her?”
“Okay.”
Mia slipped her small hand trustingly into his and tugged his arm, eager to go. Little kids on the field trips this fall had done the same thing to him almost daily. So why did the warmth and pressure of this one small hand make him feel so…happy?
A Lyrical Press Contemporary Romance
Buy Links
Amazon | iTunes | Kobo | Barnes And Noble

Gemma B Small

Author Bio
Gemma’s favorite desk accessories for many years were a circular wooden token, better known as a ’round tuit,’ and a slip of paper from a fortune cookie proclaiming her a lover of words; some day she’d write a book. All it took was a transfer to the United Kingdom, the lovely English springtime, and a huge dose of homesickness to write her first novel. Once it was completed and sent off with a kiss, even the rejections addressed to ‘Dear Author’ were gratifying.
After returning to America, she spent a number of years as a copywriter, dedicating her skills to making insurance and the agents who sell them sound sexy. Eventually, her full-time job as a writer interfered with her desire to be a writer full-time and she left the world of financial products behind to pursue an avocation as a romance author.
Her gamble paid off when she was a 2012 Finalist in the prestigious Golden Pen contest for Romantic Suspense and she received contracts for her first and second book.
Connect with Gemma on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gemma.brocato, Twitter: @gemmabrocato or on the web at www.Gemmabrocato.com

7 thoughts on “Guest Post Hearts in Harmony from Gemma Brocato

  1. What a cute interview. The kids are adorable. I’m 80% through reading Hearts in Harmony and am really enjoying the characters, including Mason and Mia. Pretty soon I’ll know exactly how it all works out for Mr. Clay and their mom, LOL!

  2. Good evening Daisy. Thanks again for having me over today. it’s late Tuesday here, so I’m off to bed, but I promise to check in first thing tomorrow.

Comments are closed.