Guest Post from Suzy Knight

Today I welcome Suzy Knight to the blog. She has answered my twenty question. Do enjoy her answers.

 

love_and_war_suzy_knight-500x800

1 How long have you been writing?
I started writing my debut novel just over a year ago, but it feels like I’ve been a secret writer all my life.

2 Do you have a favorite book you have written?
Whichever book I’ve just finished (or am working on) instantly becomes my favourite. Something about the story being fresh in my mind just makes it seem larger than life, and (this is going to sound weird) brighter to me.

3 Have you always wanted to write?
For as long as I can remember I wanted to be a writer. I wrote stories as a toddler, I wrote stories during secondary school, and then I grew up and gave up on my dream for a while. Fortunately I came back to it.

4 Are you a plotter or pantser writer?
OMG I’ve heard this phrase before and genuinely didn’t understand it until I saw the two options together. I’m a plotter for the most part. But only because if I write blindly I end up completely lost.

5 What do you enjoy most about writing?
Definitely going to sound crazy now- but the best part is getting the stories out of my head. Once I started writing it was like I opened up a can of worms- there seems to be no end to the amount of stories I have waiting to get out, but the satisfaction from finishing each story is amazing.

6 Do you have a favorite affirmation on writing?
Does this count?

Plot twist

7 How do you develop your characters?
I pretty much let them develop on their own, I might have a few ideas on who I want them to be but I rarely get to choose much more than name and hair colour.

8 What is the most exciting time for you in your writing, the new beginning or the completed story? The offer of a contract?
New stories are exciting, but the most exciting moment is when I’ve finished one- sharing it with everyone that’s the heart stopping moment for me.

9 If you have experienced rejection as a writer, how did you deal with it?
My first novel did get rejected a few times, but in a way it just made me more determined.

10 Do you ever write yourself into your stories?
No, *laughs* I don’t think I’d be very interesting, nor would I survive very well.

11 Have you ever used a ‘real life’ incident in your writing?
I haven’t yet, but I wouldn’t rule it out. I’m planning a series that travels across all four countries of the UK and I plan to road trip the route myself before writing- there’s definitely going to be some anecdotes hidden in there.

12 What is your favorite way to find inspiration?
If I get stuck I deal with it one of two ways- either call my Mum and talk through everything with her, or take a nap with my headphones in. Usually one of these methods gives me that missing piece to plot my way forward.

13 Who are your favorite authors?
Too many to mention! My childhood bedroom still has all my books in, and the shelves are literally dipping in the middle under the weight of all the books!

14 Do you feel you are influenced by any particular authors?
I’ve always wanted to write like Robin Hobb, but my writing style lends itself to more romance driven/shorter novels than her adventure driven epics.

15 What is the most difficult aspect of writing for you?
Patience. I can only type so fast, and I only have so much free time to write. When I have a story in my head all I want to do is lock myself away from the world, blast some epic music and write the entire thing in one go. Unfortunately writing takes weeks/months so I often find myself struggling with my impatience.

16 Coffee or Tea?
Not very British of me, but coffee. Either Crème Brulee or Caramel Latte Machiato.

17 Early rising lark or night lover owl?
Night lover owl for sure! My writing flows best at night. Whereas in the mornings I just want to curl up with a book in my duvet and coffee ^^

18 What do you enjoy doing when you’re not writing?
Playing with my puppy Panda, reading, or watching TV. I’m so behind on all the books and shows I want to read/see.

19 Do you think you will still be writing in ten years time?
Yes! Now that I’ve started, I’ll never stop!

20 What question do you wish I’d asked?
You were pretty thorough! Is there anything left?

Author Contact
Email: suzyknightbooks@gmail.com
Website: www.suzyknight.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SuzyKnightBooks?ref=hl
Twitter: https://twitter.com/SuzyKnightbooks
Amazon Author UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/-/e/B00IABE9YE

Book links
Taliesin Publishing: http://www.taliesinpublishing.com/love-and-war-p34.php
Amazon Love and War: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Love-War-Suzy-Knight-ebook/dp/B00I9Q3MYI/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1397470951&sr=1-1&keywords=love+and+war+suzy+knight
Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/405760
Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/love-and-war-suzy-knight/1118583681
Love and War Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20742987-love-and-war

“Journey to the kingdom of Estoria and immerse yourself in court life. Follow the two young Princesses on their journey to become Queen of Estoria in these tumultuous times”

BIO:
Suzy Knight is an average English girl, who after completing a degree in boring business management decided to travel halfway around the world to the land of kpop and kimchi to be a teacher.

Whilst in Korea, Suzy rediscovered her passion for writing and managed to write the novel Love and War in between working at her academy and volunteering with animal rescue. Two years later and she’s back in England with her rescued Korean puppy, Panda.

Now she is working on her next novels, while training Panda to be less nervous. To contact Suzy you can message her via her facebook, twitter or by email: suzyknightbooks@gmail.com

Genre: fantasy/romance
Tagline: Love, Duty or Family; Which would you choose?
Blurb of “Love and War”
“IN THE SMALL KINGDOM OF ESTORIA, WAR IS BREWING. TRAPPED BETWEEN THE DEADLY CANTARRUS MOUNTAINS AND THE VOLATILE KINGDOM OF BELVIDIA, WAR SEEMS UNAVOIDABLE. THE TIME HAS COME TO ANNOUNCE THE HEIR TO THE THRONE SO AS TO GIVE THE KINGDOM A MUCH NEEDED SENSE OF SECURITY.
SOPHIA HAS WORKED LONG AND HARD TO BECOME THE IDEAL QUEEN. SHE IS THE TOAST OF ESTORIAN SOCIETY AND IS READY TO MARRY FOR DUTY. HER TWIN SISTER AMELIA IS HER POLAR OPPOSITE; CLUMSY AND OPINIONATED AMELIA MIGHT BE FLUENT IN SEVERAL LANGUAGES, BUT SHE CANNOT CURTSY WITHOUT FALLING OVER.
WHEN AMELIA’S BETROTHAL TO PRINCE DAMON IS ANNOUNCED, SOPHIA FEELS BETRAYED. AMELIA IS SHOCKED AND BECOMES PARANOID THAT HER UNFEMININE HABITS WILL CAUSE THE PRINCE TO CALL OFF THE WEDDING, LEAVING ESTORIA TO FACE BELVIDIA ALONE. THINGS GET MORE COMPLICATED FOR AMELIA WHEN SHE BEGINS TO DEVELOP FEELINGS FOR THE HANDSOME BODYGUARD SENT BY HER FUTURE HUSBAND.
AMELIA MUST CHOOSE; WILL SHE SIDE WITH HER SISTER, OR DO HER DUTY AND MARRY THE PRINCE, OR ILL HER NEW FOUND INTEREST IN MARRYING FOR LOVE RUIN EVERYTHING? LOVE, DUTY OR FAMILY; WHICH WOULD YOU CHOOSE?”
TWEETS:
Marry a stranger to save a kingdom. Sounds simple http://goo.gl/Zqcete Love and War from @SuzyKnightbooks
Two Princesses, One Crown. http://goo.gl/LLSqb7 @SuzyKnightBooks #debut #fantasyromance
Amelia wants to be King; not somebody else’s Queen #romance #fantasy #action #adventure @SuzyKnightbooks http://goo.gl/LLSqb7
Can I marry a man I never met? How will he react? #romance #fantasy @SuzyKnightbooks http://goo.gl/Zqcete

12 thoughts on “Guest Post from Suzy Knight

  1. Loved the interview. Daisy asked some tough, but interesting questions and Suzy, your answers did not disappoint. Best of luck with the book.

  2. Suzy! WooHoo! Love the cover! Love the storyline! I’m with you on the favorite affirmation and I’m a Caramel Latte Machiato lass meself! No wonder I adore you! Have an awesome day!

    Big hugs Sweetie!
    Houston

Comments are closed.