Guest post from J. L. Simpson. Who cares about the pitch.

Today I am happy to welcome J.L. Simpson to the blog.

JL Simpson writes mysterious comedies. Her first book, Lost Cause is due for release with Taliesin Publishing later this year.

Daisy Dunlop thinks heir hunting will be an adventure. The man charged with ensuring her safety thinks it will be murder.

 

for daisy

But for Daisy I have a feeling he will always be a little bit…

 

 Fabulous, a gorgeous Daisy lure and a fantastic story lure from J.L. Super!

 Who cares about the pitch, or stop researching already!

The word ‘pitch’ in my title may be a little confusing. Like me you probably think pitch is related to trying to get an editor to read your shiny new novel, or something to do with baseball, but wait, there’s more.

Later this year I’m going back to the UK with my husband to visit family, and to do research for a new book. My research is fun and involves shopping, sightseeing, eating and generally immersing myself back in the English way of life. However, before you can go on holiday you have to plan things like flights, hotels, car hire, and then you need to think about the weather and what clothes you’re going to need, what you want to go and see, and what you want to eat. Eating is extremely important. I have a list of all the UK foods they don’t sell in Australia that I simply have to taste before I come home. Usually I get to do all of the leg work on my own and then when we get back to Australia my man realizes that there were loads of things he could have done when we were away if only he’d known about them. This time I have persuaded him to get involved, but I think I might have created a monster.

Thanks to his detailed work I have learnt a whole lot of stuff that I’m sure I never really needed to know. He’s been on the job for two months and is yet to move beyond the flights, even though I paid for the plane tickets weeks ago. He knows what every airline in the world provides in the way of seats, in-flight entertainment, food, pajamas, seat width, leg room, service and how they have been rated by dozens of websites and travelers. He knows where every lounge is in every airport we’re visiting and which ones provide showers, food, free massages etc. He’s also done an in depth review of every frequent flyers program and how much money you’d need to spend to earn enough points to get a free flight or an upgrade.

I hate research so I can’t even begin to imagine how this level of detail can keep you interested for weeks on end, or why you would keep looking after you’d moved beyond needing to know all of this.

He takes it well when I laugh at him and he promises to move on to other aspects of our trip soon. Once he’s done with the holiday I think I might employ him to help with my books. I had no idea I had such an asset living under my roof. Even better the only payment he wants is some love and affection, and the occasional cup of tea.

So, what is pitch? It’s the space between the back of your plane seat and the back of the seat in front of you. Don’t you feel better for knowing that?

 

Daisy Dunlop thinks heir hunting will be an adventure. The man charged with ensuring her safety thinks it will be murder.

JL Simpson

Bio.

JL Simpson writes mysterious comedies. Her first book, Lost Cause is due for release with Taliesin Publishing later this year. JL grew up on the South Coast of England and North Wales but now calls Australia home. When she is not busy keeping her husband, two sons and two fluffy white dogs under control, or watching the Crime Investigation channel, she can be found writing. Her love of all thinks weird flows through to her stories, where mystery and mayhem collide.

Website: jlsimpson.com

Twitter http://wp.me/P3mtJN-1 via @jlsimpsonautho

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/JL-Simpson/126748204182731?ref=hl

Twitter

4 thoughts on “Guest post from J. L. Simpson. Who cares about the pitch.

  1. Thank you for a new definition for pitch! This sounds like a term I can put to good use at some point in the future, if my fae decide to travel in a more human fashion. Thanks for the post.

Comments are closed.