Tuesday Treat with Sotia Lazu. Lovely.

This is an over 18 post. By continuing to read you acknowledge you are over 18.

Tuesday Treat

Tuesday Treat.

A special Tuesday Treat from Sotia Lazu.

Hi, Daisy, and thank you for having me!

Until typing this post, I hadn’t realized how much of my writing revolves around firsts—how much romance novels in general revolve around them, and I don’t just mean sexual firsts.

See, there’s a first time for everything, and not all first times turn out for the best.
I remember the first time I tried a cigarette, for example. My head felt light in a very unpleasant way, and my stomach kept trying to come out my mouth. Still, a firm believer in ‘practice makes perfect,’ I lit another and kept lighting until I was totally hooked and couldn’t go a day without a pack. I’m done with the stupid thing, fortunately, and other firsts have definitely been more fun.

Some even involved a very awkward shower and so much laughing that certain—ahem—marks were hard to hit.
I like writing about firsts. Not someone’s first ever time necessarily, because I’m tempted to write in all the potential awkwardness, and that doesn’t make for the sexiest of readings. No, I like writing about first times that people cross their limits, first time they let their defenses down, first time they’re forced to take a long hard look at their choices.

Amanda, from my recently finished The Tenant, is trying to get her fiancé to put out for the first time, which leads her over a threshold she shouldn’t have crossed if she wanted the bubble of her perfect life to remain intact.

Eliza, from my contemporary novella, The Kiss, receives a first kiss in the dark and puts herself out there to spot the perfect stranger who made her heart flutter for the first time in a long while.

Ric, from Magic at Work, has spent the last few years burying himself inside his work. When he decides to take a risk for the first time since his heart was broken, he finds an equally damaged person with as great a need for love, and an even greater need to hold her ground.

James is a respectable married man in Passionate, until he decides to give into temptation for the first time, and turns his entire life upside down.

And, of course, there’s Becca in one of my current WIPs, who decides it’s possible to want to be with two men at the same time—and after years of naughty fantasies decided to have herself a taste.

The common denominator is that firsts can change everything, and Cherry finds that out in the very first chapter of the first book of the Cherry Series.
The night she decides to break her own rules for the first time, and have sex with the guy she plans on feeding and stealing money from, is the beginning of a series of firsts.
It’s the first time she agrees to stay just a little longer once she’s done with her plans for the night…followed by another, more dangerous first.
I tried to be gentle – if done right, a vampire bite can be painless – but his fierce thrashing under me and plunging inside me made me lose my mind. I drank and drank, drawing more of Alex inside me with every sip. Each pull on his blood made my pussy spasm and drew out my orgasm, his moans music to my ears.
For a few moments there, it was like I was floating. My lips felt dry. I opened my eyes and had to blink a couple of times before my vision cleared. What had just happened was…wow. My brain was too fuzzy to search for the right word.
I licked the wound on Alex’s neck tenderly, closing it. Then I cleaned my lips with my tongue and raised my gaze to his, getting ready for the moment that canceled the whole night: the moment to erase me from his mind.
He smiled at me and held me tighter, apparently oblivious to what I’d done. His chest heaved with panted breaths; his heartbeat pounded in my ears.
I hated that I liked it.
I started to stand on leaden legs, letting his softening cock slip out of me, but his grip felt made of steel despite the blood I’d taken from him.
“Stay,” he said. Though worded as an order, it sounded like a plea.
“I can’t.” I really couldn’t. If I did, there might be no turning back.
He kissed me leisurely, intimately. It was too much. I gave in. “Only for a little while.”
He shifted me sideways in his lap and gathered me to him, tucking my feet snugly between his thigh and the armchair. “I wish there was a blanket down here,” he said. “Or do you…want to go upstairs?”
Upstairs. Where the bedrooms probably were. Where he’d probably want me to stay longer. I should just have gone. Right then.
I shook my head. “I like it here.”
Laying his cheek on my head, he whispered against my hair, “I like it too.”
I stayed there, cuddling with him, for longer than I should have. Unwilling to let go of his warmth, I listened to his heart rate slow down to normal and his breath even out. Once he was asleep, I thought it’d be a shame to wake him and wipe his memory. Instead I watched him until the angles of his face, the curve of his lips, and the smoothness of his brow were imprinted on my mind. My gaze fell to his neck. Despite everything, my bite mark was nothing more than a couple of dots, like pinpricks. I kissed my mark and inhaled Alex’s scent to complete my mental picture of him.
I never allowed myself to fall asleep anywhere but in my basement apartment, and I made sure I was back there before sunrise. The sun coming up doesn’t make us narcoleptic, but it can make us nice and crispy, so I always made a point of checking the sunrise time online before going out – better safe than sorry, as they say.
Well…almost always.
I fell asleep.

???????????????

Cherry Stem by Sotia Lazu
Turned at the cusp of a promising career in the adult movie industry, Cherry Stem has to rely on her mesmerizing vampire gaze for her meals and money. With the rent deadline approaching, settling for pocket change isn’t an option, so she reluctantly decides to let tall, dark, and handsome Detective Alex Marsden take her home for the night and fulfill her needs.
Only she gets more than she bargained for.
When Cherry meets Alex, she expects him to be nothing more than another “girl meets boy, girl feeds from boy, girl erases boy’s memories” hook-up. Once missing young women, the vampire council, and her irresistible ex are thrown into the mix though, she realizes nothing is as simple or random as she thought it was.
And Alex is either the biggest gift or the biggest mistake of her un-life.

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Apple

authorpic-2(1)

Sotia’s making do with Greek reality, while writing and mostly thinking in English.
She loves romances with a twist and urban fantasy novels, always with vivid erotic elements. Her favorite characters to write are not conventional hero-material at first glance, and she enjoys making them fight for their happiness.
Sotia shares her life and living quarters with her husband, their son, and two rescue dogs, one of which may be part-pony. Sappy movies make her bawl like a baby, and she wishes she could take in all the stray dogs in the world.
Also, she hates mornings!

sotialazu.com | Tweet @justsotia | Sotia’s Facebook Page | Sotia’s Goodreads

 

9 thoughts on “Tuesday Treat with Sotia Lazu. Lovely.

  1. Oh my. that’s some excerpt. I really enjoyed it and the interview. This was the ‘first’ time I’ve met you. So a pleasure getting to know you.

    • Hi Gemma! Nice to meet you too, and I’m really glad you liked the interview. Thank you 🙂

  2. Whew! (fanning self…) Very hot excerpt. But I particularly enjoyed the other list of firsts. Sotia is certainly a creative writer!

Comments are closed.