Sleep on it. Guest Post from Anson Barber.

It is my pleasure today to hand the blog over to my guest Anson Barber. Welcome Anson, and congratulations on your latest release, Into thin air.

Sleep on it.

Into-Thin-Air

Sleep is a vital part of life. Everyone knows what happens when we don’t get enough sleep. Or the agony when we can’t fall asleep because our minds are busy doing other things. Once we fall asleep we don’t like to be woken up, and sleeping in is often considered a luxury.

Some of my best ideas come to me while I’m sleeping. My “hour of inspiration” is usually right after four a.m. I find it useless to battle with the characters in my mind. So I generally give in, and go write out their story so I can go back to sleep.

Sleep gives our bodies the chance to repair, and our minds time to reorganize.

It only makes sense that our characters would need sleep as well.

Generally in a romance book, sleeping with someone means something more than actual sleep, but there is a message in how our characters relate to sleeping with each other.

Sleeping with another person is an extremely intimate thing. When a character is sleeping in someone’s arms it gives the reader the feeling that the person is truly cared for. Watching someone sleep, while somewhat creepy in real life, gives a sense of endearment. A way of saying, I can’t wait until this person wakes up so I can be with them again.

And lest we forget the morning after when sleep is over. The comfort a character feels while being with someone after waking up. They are accepted and loved regardless of the messy hair and smeared makeup.

Sometimes the morning brings surprises. In my new book Into Thin Air, Jameson goes golfing with a friend, and wakes up the next morning unable to remember anything that happened the night before.

Another benefit to letting our characters sleep is allowing them the opportunity to dream. Most of my books have a dream sequence. It gives the reader an inside look at the characters thoughts, without the character being aware of it themselves. It can also be a way to fill in the character’s history, or experience their fears.

While I understand the importance of getting enough sleep, I also realize my goal as an author is to keep you turning the pages well past your bedtime.

http://amzn.to/1hoDZQN

 

Bio: One very early morning, Anson Barber woke up with a conversation going on in her head. It wasn’t the remnants of a dream as much as being forced awake by her imagination. Unable to go back to sleep, she gave in, went to the computer, and began writing. Years later it hasn’t stopped.
Anson Barber lives near Hershey, Pennsylvania. Her contemporary romances include paranormal, sci-fi, fantasy, and mystery suspense. She enjoys candy immensely, as well as long motorcycle rides and reading.

Anson Barber
Love this electrifying should never be doubted!
 
Rev up your romance!

 

6 thoughts on “Sleep on it. Guest Post from Anson Barber.

  1. I love finding a book that keeps me up past my bedtime although the rest of the world might say differently – I am a bit of a grump/layzbutt when I don’t get enough sleep.

    For some reason when I complain to an author that they kept me up they take it as a compliment! 😛

  2. Hi, Anson. I love the cover of your book! My characters tend to keep me awake too, but usually they don’t let me fall asleep (rather than getting me up). They can be awfully demanding, can’t they. BTW, I’m near Hershey, PA too!

  3. I love this post! Not just because it echoes my own work/sleep styles, but because I haven’t really thought enough about what happens when/how my characters sleep. Thanks for the tip!

Comments are closed.