Krissy Daniels answers twenty questions.

I’m very pleased to welcome Krissy Daniels, a fellow author from Lyrical Press to my blog. Krissy answers most of my twenty questions.
1. How long have you been writing?

Oh wow. I’ve written for fun since grade school — a very, very long time ago. My serious writing began only about two years ago. I had to wait for some of my braincells to regenerate after raising three children.

2. Do you have a favorite book you have written?

I do. I know I’m supposed to say “I love every book I’ve written” but that would be a lie. How To Kill Your Boss (releasing spring 2015) is by far my favorite. It came from a personal experience and I had so much fun exacting my revenge on a terrible boss through this book.

3. Have you always wanted to write?

Oh my goodness, YES! Always. For too many years, I let life get in the way and made excuses for not writing every, single day. I’ll admit, I was scared to sit down and take it seriously. My oldest and dearest friend has hounded me for as long as I can remember. She’s the one who kept the dream alive when I let it fizzle. I’ll be forever grateful to her.

4. Are you a plotter or pantster writer?

Pantster, pantster, pantster. I can’t plot for poop. I wish I could. I think it would make finishing the first draft of a manuscript so much easier.

5. What do you enjoy most about writing?

I think I’d have to say getting lost in the story. Escaping reality. Finding the dark, perverted corners of my mind and going places, doing things I can’t do in real life. It’s so freeing when you get lost in a character and have no rules. You can be anyone, do anything, say whatever the bleep you want.
6. Do you have a favorite affirmation on writing? Eg., This from Chuck Wendig is one of my favorites. The One No-Fooling Rule Is “write.” Write, write, … write. Write better today than you did yesterday and better tomorrow than you did today. Onward, fair pen monkey, onward. If you’re not a writer, something will stop you — your own doubts, hate from haters, a bad review, poor time management, a hungry raccoon that nibbles off your fingers, whatever. If you’re a writer, you’ll write. And you’ll never stop to look back.

I don’t know if I would consider this an affirmation, but when I’m having a bad writing day, I remind myself that there is no way in hell I could ever go back to a 9-5 job. This is it for me and I am solely responsible for my own success or failure.
7. How do you develop your characters?

Gah. It’s embarassing, but my characters develop according to my moods.When I wrote Grayce’s character in Aflame, I was in a dark place emotionally. I had two close friends and a family member suffering through toxic relationships all at the same time. Hard as I tried, I could do nothing to help them heal and it weighed heavy on my spirit. From that, came Grayce’s fear, anger and foul mouth. I used her as an outlet for my own frustrations. Aside from that, I get a general idea of who the characters might be during the first draft. They develop over the course of the thirteen-million revisions.
8. What is the most exciting time for you in your writing, the new beginning or the completed story? The offer of a contract?

All of the above. But I will say, reading my first review of Aflame was cathartic. I cried for twenty minutes after I read it. Then I laughed. And then I cried some more.
9. If you have experienced rejection as a writer, how did you deal with it?

Rejection just made me try harder. Work harder. Failure is not an option for me. Not even a little bit. When I finished Aflame, I knew that I had to do this full time. There was no going back no matter how many people rejected the story.
10. Do you ever write yourself into your stories?

No. At least not on purpose. My sister would say otherwise.
11. Have you ever used a ‘real life’ incident in your writing?

I started writing How To Kill Your Boss the day I got fired from a job. The man was a bully and I stood up for myself. He didn’t like it so much. I do draw emotions for my characters from real life incidents all the time.
12. What is your favorite way to find inspiration?

I don’t look for inspiration. Sometimes it just slaps me in the face.
13. Who are your favorite authors?

J.R. Ward. Sylvia Day. John Ajvide Lindqvist (Let the Right One In). There’s too many to name them all. I’ve recently discovered Pam Godwin. Ooh. She’s so good.
14. What is the most difficult aspect of writing for you?

Staying true to my voice. If I’m reading a book while I’m working on a manuscript, I tend to pick up on that author’s voice. I didn’t realize I was doing it until my very wise and sassy *wink, wink* editor pointed it out to me. Man, I love her. Am I allowed to say that?

Of course you are.
15. Coffee or Tea?

Coffee for breakfast and lunch. Tea for dinner and dessert.
16. Early rising lark or night lover owl?

I love mornings when I have the house to myself.
17. What do you enjoy doing when you’re not writing?

Eeek! Does any mom get free time? It feels like I’m always writing. When I’m not, I’m doing the mom and wife thing. Not much time for anything else.
18. Do you think you will still be writing in ten years time?

Absolutely! I can’t imagine doing anything else.

9781616505363(1)

To save her soul, he’ll let her burn.

Grayce has been on the run for years. Having escaped an abusive relationship with a violent psychopath, she is trying to rebuild her life one small step at a time. Things are going well until Zander crosses her path, badass and sexy as hell. His presence awakens heated desires she long ago buried. Last thing Grayce wants is a man, and the way her body reacts to Zander scares her more than the threat of being found.
Tyr will do anything to get his little dove back. She is a Beacon, and her raw, burning energy gives him power and strength. More than the evil that already compels him. But a blond giant of a man hovers protectively around her. No matter. He’ll play with him too.
When Zander rescues Grayce from Tyr’s first attempt to reclaim her, he reveals his superhuman abilities. Power that Grayce also has, but has yet to understand. As predestined soul mates, Zander must help Grace control her rage before her fire threatens to destroy everyone and everything in her path. But his true challenge is more than that—to show her it’s possible to trust and love again.
CONTENT WARNING: Hot sex with a foul-mouthed firecracker.
A Lyrical Press Paranormal romance

Excerpt.

With bare hands splayed across the open wounds, Grayce squeezed her eyes closed and prayed for control. Begged. Pleaded to a God she’d never before acknowledged.
Chelsea needed time to get away.
Grayce prayed for Chelsea, prayed for Zander. Prayed they wouldn’t die because of her.
Her wits slipped away. Raw emotion drove her actions now. Blood covered her arms. Her lips throbbed with the remnants of his kiss. A kiss that felt like goodbye. He couldn’t die. The primal need to protect him overwhelmed her senses.
“Take me,” she implored. “Take me instead.”
Hell’s own fire coursed through her veins. Savage. Brutal. Pissed off.
She would’ve sold her soul at that moment to keep him alive. Zander didn’t deserve this. She did.
Earth and grass swirled and gyrated, turned to ash around her. Her small fingers stretched across his bloodied and shredded skin. Her insides boiled. Her skin bubbled and vibrated with indignant protest.
He said he loved her, now he was dying. Why? What kind of cruel, sadistic joke was this, anyway? Violent trembles overtook her as an earthquake made its way through her body from the inside out.
“I will not let you die.”

Krissy Daniels
Romance Author
Website / Facebook / Twitter / Pinterest

Aflame April 7,2014

 

16 thoughts on “Krissy Daniels answers twenty questions.

  1. Congrats on your release, Krissy. I loved you reply to dealing with rejection, and a shout-out to your friend for pushing you forward and keeping your dream alive when you weren’t focused on it. It sounds like it’s onward and upward from here! 🙂

  2. Nice to read that I am not the only mommy writer who needed a few years post baby to regain enough brain cells for writing. good excerpt.

Comments are closed.