The writing process blog hop.

220px-Irish_clover

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day to everyone.

May your pockets be heavy and your heart be light.

May good luck pursue you each morning and night.

The writing process blog hop.

A little while ago, a friend of mine tagged me in this blog hop. Thanks Mae. You can find Mae Clair’s blog post here. I am fascinated to discover how other authors work on their stories and their thoughts on the writing process.  

Here is my post about the way I write.

What am I working on?

At present, I am working on several projects at various stages of completion. I tend to do that a lot I like having more than one thing.

My most important task  at the moment is working on the edits for my story A Perfect Match due out with Taliesin Publishing this summer. Edits always come first on my priority list. I am very excited about this story, it is the longest and probably the most complex story I’ve ever written. I did a lot of world building for this tale, a whole system of government, religion and society. 

There is also a little short story for a special project to be announced later this year, and I’m in the process of submitting To Eternity, the sequel to Timeless. Eternity has taken me time to finish as I had a lot of learning I needed to do before I could complete it. I am pleased with the result of the effort to finish the story.

Timeless

Along with these projects, I have a variety of blog posts to work on and some promotional work. In fact, you could say I am rather busy.

How does my work differ from others in its genre?

I have published stories in three genre’s so far, Historical, Fantasy and Paranormal. A Perfect Match is different from all those, as it is futuristic and set in another world entirely. There are several cross genre elements in A Perfect Match.

I think readers will find cross genre elements in some of my other stories. Certainly, in Your Heart My Soul there is a mix of the historical and paranormal. I don’t consciously set out to create the mixes, they happen as the story evolves.  I think it is those cross over points readers might find a little different about my writing. 

yourheartmysoul

Why do I write what I do?

This should be a very easy question to answer but it’s a bit like trying to describe why I breathe. I have to, is the answer. I write because I love writing. I have ideas for stories and they demand to be told.

I have always loved the paranormal, fantasy and historical genre and read as much as I can as well as write. It’s not surprising I write in the genre’s I enjoy most.

My newest creation A Perfect Match is a little different, but I loved the characters and their strange world so the story took on a life of its own.

How does my writing process work?


I am a pantster writer through and through. A story comes to me as a picture or a scene, it might be at the beginning or in the middle of a story, occasionally, I’ve seen the end and then had to work out how to get the characters to that point.  From the point of seeing the images in my head I then write the scene if I want to use it and work from there creating names, characters and the worlds they live in.

This process can sometimes be overwhelming, as it was in my story A Gentleman’s Folly, the story unfolded fast and the characters proved very strong. I like my historical stories to be as accurate as it is possible for me to make them. The level of research A Gentleman’s Folly demanded slowed my writing process a little, but I’m glad I did it to give the best grounding I could to the story.  Historical stories always take me longer than any other genre due to the level of research.I think due to cinema or T.V. people have a kind of vague idea of historical periods but when it gets down to the day to day details then you have to know what you are talking about.

AGentlemansFolly_600x800

Often the first image I see of the story contains the central conflict. I have learned over time to pay attention to that conflict and not forget it in the excitement of a new tale. This has been a time consuming lesson as when I have forgotten the original image in my enthusiasm, the story flounders and I have to rework it. I have one story, a historical, where I made that mistake. The story sits at 35,000 words  on my ‘to be done’ list because I didn’t use the original conflict in the image and now I have to put it right if I ever want to use it.

The other great joy of writing is learning as much as I can about it and trying to improve my skills to give readers the best I can possibly offer them. Reading back over this paragraph all of it seems like a great deal of effort is involved, I suppose it is, but I do it because I love writing.


 My follow on blog hoppers are

Virginnia De Parte

Virginnia is a New Zealand based poet and writer who publishes exclusively on e-books. She writes flash fiction, short stories and romance. Her futuristic novels are spiced with romance and adventure.

And

Shiloh Saddler

A historical erotica author who likes her American history on the hot side whether it be straight or GLBT. She also dabbles in sci-fi, fantasy, and contemporary romance.

Virginnia and Shiloh will be blogging on the 24th of March.

 

5 thoughts on “The writing process blog hop.

  1. yes I think it’s very often true that we get a flash or an image and we use that as our inspiration. But sometimes I forget them. I’m still trying to figure out what made me write vampires and flowers…..but oh well!

  2. Hi, Daisy. We seem to like a lot of the same things….paranormal, fantasy and historical in our novels. A Perfect Match sounds very intriguing. I love the idea of world-building and am looking forward to seeing how you handled it in the society you create. I’m like you in that I HAVE to write. If a week goes by without me creating “something,” I suffer withdrawal. Thanks for playing along in the Writing Process Blog Hop. I loved seeing your perspective and creative process. Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!

Comments are closed.