Day 23 Venus Cahill and holiday films.

I am so pleased the lovely and talented Venus has been able to join us with her thoughts on the holiday season. You are very welcome Venus.

When I asked Daisy if I could be part of her Holiday Blog I thought I would have no problem coming up with something interesting to write about, after all the Christmas season has endless ideas. Yet I found myself struggling. I’m not an excellent baker so I have no great recipes to share and my cooking is mainly done in the microwave or toaster oven so ditto there. I’m not particularly crafty so again nothing to share. For me the favourite part of the season is the cheesy holiday movies that bombard the airways just prior to American Thanksgiving. I love watching these mostly made for television movies and giving in to the magic and the belief that miracles can and will happen. I curl up under a warm blanket and I let the everyday go. I stop worrying about the day job and what’s for supper or if I’ve gotten enough stocking stuffers and I lose myself in a holiday romance. I also enjoy the classics, every year I get swept away by Danny Kaye and Bing Crosby, I commiserate with the kid who is told he’ll shoot his eye out and I can’t keep track of how many ghosts of Christmas past, present and future visit another miserly, miserable Scrooge.

sod it white christmas

I can’t make up my mind if I prefer the dysfunctional families or the Norman Rockwell picture perfect ones, but they all find a place in my heart for the holiday season. I have specific favourites that I can watch over and over again and I even have a few that you couldn’t pay me to watch but overall it is one of my favourite traditions.

I’m hoping that you can find time during this busy season to relax and watch a holiday show or two. I’d love to know what your holiday favourite is and I’ll ask Daisy to pick 3 lucky responders and gift them with a copy of my ebook.

CupCakesForMyBirthday_XOXOPublishing_6x9Cover300dpi

Venus Cahill

~ Where the Curvy girl gets her man~

https://www.facebook.com/#!/venusbookluvr


www.venusbookluvr.blogspot.com

www.goodreads.com/author/show/4908729.Venus_Cahill

https://twitter.com/venie

10 thoughts on “Day 23 Venus Cahill and holiday films.

  1. Hi Venus! Christmas movies – hmmm. They were talking about this on the radio this morning as well and I said if I had to choose ONLY ONE it would be The Sound Of Music.

  2. Venus, my favorite holiday would be Christmas time. It’s the summer holidays where I live, so it’s eight weeks of kicking back on the beach, or swimming with the kiddies. I love it. Merry Christmas to you and your family.

    Thanks so much, Daisy, for some wonderful Christmas-time posts. I’ve adored them.

  3. Christmas films are such a big part of the holiday season, and I’m glad you posted about it! Most of the movies at our house now are of the animated sort for my two young boys, from Mickey’s Christmas Carol to Dr. Suess’, How the Grinch Stole Christmas (not the Jim Carey one, that freaks my kids out). We’ve been watching them for a month now but the kids never tire of them for the magic and messages they hold. My favorite? National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. I still laugh out loud, and it’s good for my stressed-out soul during the rush up to the big day. Merry Christmas!! All the best for 2014, it’s gonna be a good one! xo

Comments are closed.