Day 20 My guest is Heather Hand

I would like to offer a very warm welcome to Heather Hand who has become one of my friends and has helped me so much.

christmas decoration

When the lovely Daisy Bank’s offered me a spot on her Christmas Advent Blog – she was offering to her friend’s first – I was thrilled and said “Yes!” although that was mostly because she called me friend. When I started to think about actually sitting down and typing out my thoughts I wondered what to say and then the inevitable question of ‘’Who wants to listen to me anyways?”

I have never blogged or really communicated my thoughts in any form; be it a diary as a young girl or a journal as a teen/young adult. As well, until these past few months, I had never followed a blog either, let alone a few every day. Now that I am, I find that I quite enjoy reading their posts and “meeting” the guest bloggers and their books. And then I realized what changed – I did. My lifestyle did.

For those of you who don’t know me (short version), I fell a few years ago which caused back pain and nerve issues in my leg(s). I have had two back surgeries and successful recoveries for almost a year after each but am now officially “broken” as the scar tissue on the nerves has caused the pain and disability to recur and progress. I am no longer working (just over a year) or driving (just about two months) or going further than the top edge of my driveway on my own (once the snow and ice arrived). Obviously these changes have made me much more dependent on the internet and the connections I make there as “surfing the web” is now the way I “go out and about” to connect with people.

But honestly, I’m not the only one anymore. I have come to realize that we live in a world where we no longer always know our neighbours as friends, where we may not know them so we don’t automatically say “Hi, how are you?” to the people walking by or wave at the people driving past.  The biggest change is that our circle of friends is no longer limited to the immediate geography of our lives. Instead of walking down the block and talking to each neighbour as we go, most of us go online and chat/message our friends – whether they live down the block, on the other side of the globe or somewhere in between.

I discovered Goodreads just over a year ago. I stumbled into one group and then found even more people I instantly bonded with. Blessedly, I have made amazing friends through GR/Twitter/FB over this past year, some of whom are even authors! These generous, talented, genuinely hilarious and delightfully crazy people have enabled me to offer insights and more as I have started to read and review books. Now I have an online community of friends that supports and encourages each other in whatever life tosses our way.

There have been a lot of things change for me in this past year. At Christmas last year I was looking forward to going back to work and getting back into at least a partial workday, hopefully working my way to close to 80%. I was celebrating the almost one year anniversary of my successful surgery and raising a glass in salute to the marvelous Doctor who put me back together. I don’t even know what the day will be like for me as Christmas approaches this year. I do know that whatever happens I will get through it and be better for it. I do know that on the other side of whatever life throws at me is the end of a lesson I needed to learn. Most important of all I do know that the friends and family I have will be here for me in whatever way they can and it will be enough.

As I mentioned I love to read and make new friends and I would like to introduce two of them to you. I am going to give away a book and it will be up to the winner if it is a seasonal read or an urban fantasy/paranormal romance. The seasonal read is a new release just this week, “Captive at Christmas” by a newly published author and lovely friend Danielle Taylor. The PNR/UF is the first book, Colour Wielders, in the series of the same name by Dawna Raver and she, this amazing person and friend, is offering the second book, Severed Colours, to the winner.

captive-at-christmas-cover                                                                            Colour-Wielders

 

http://www.amazon.com/Captive-at-Christmas-Danielle-Taylor-ebook/dp/B00H8XOCEC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1387165716&sr=8-1&keywords=captive+at+christmas

http://www.amazon.com/Danielle-Taylor/e/B007YTBYSW/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1387166139&sr=1-2-ent

http://www.amazon.com/Colour-Wielders-Novel-ebook/dp/B00EQLLNPK/ref=la_B00CFV5ECQ_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1387166023&sr=1-1 book one

http://www.amazon.com/Severed-Colours-Colour-Wielders-Novel-ebook/dp/B00GQBH9BU/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1387165905&sr=1-1&keywords=dawna+raver book two

http://www.amazon.com/Dawna-Raver/e/B00CFV5ECQ/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1387165999&sr=1-2-ent

35 thoughts on “Day 20 My guest is Heather Hand

  1. I’m very touched by Heather’s positive attitude. I am fortunate to have made friends with those around me. But otherwise I am also dependent upon the internet for companionship. I wish you well Heather.

    • Hey Ally – I feel so very lucky to have met you as well!! I am so lucky to have met so many amazing people – online or through Goodreads and Twitter. This year has been full of blessings for me in this way and these friendships have made getting through one of the most difficult years, physically, for me so much easier.

      *raises her glass* Here is to many many more happy books! 😀

  2. Heather, you are truly an inspiration to me, and from the comments here, to so many others as well. Your strength is admirable, and I hope 2014 brings you nothing but happiness and good news. Have a fabulous holiday season!

  3. *Giving you a great big hug Heather* I admire your bravery and courage and positive attitude. I have made many good friends on Twitter, Facebook and Goodreads this past year. I am pleased to call you friend. In some ways the Internet cuts down on the human connection with others, but in other ways I think it opens many doors. I am so glad we connected!

    • Hi Haley! Thanks for stopping by. *Hugs Haley back* I am also pleased to call you friend and I agree the connections we make online are different than the ones we make in person, but they are just as real and special to me. 🙂

  4. I know we haven’t been friends very long, but you always make me smile, Heather. I did not know your story, and like the others I applaud your strength. You are an amazing woman. You’ve been through so much and you still stay positive and spread cheer. I look forward to chatting with you more in the New Year.

    Thanks for all the support. If there is anything I can do for you just let me know.

    • Thank you so much for the compliment Shiloh – I admit that making other people smile and happy is something I hope to accomplish everyday. And it has been my pleasure to get to know you and your books over the last couple of months. I am thrilled to see that your second book is out. I look forward to what the next year brings for you and for us as friends.

  5. I am pleased to call you friend as well, Heather, and was tickled to see you here on Daisy’s blog! I applaud your strength, appreciate all the laughs you’ve sent my way, and look forward to more wonderful chats with you in the new year. Merry Christmas!

    • Thanks so much Rosanna! You (and Nulli) were the first authors I ever met and all those things I mentioned in my post were one of the reasons I kept going back to Goodreads and the awesome Kickers! You have been a wonderful friend to me and your creativity and tantalizing books are just two of the many reasons to love you as an author and more importantly as a friend. Merry Christmas to you and your boys!

  6. You are an inspiration. I am always amazed at people who embrace what they have rather than look for the negative. It’s a positive attitude in life that will bless you and bring you strength.

    • Thank you so much Valerie. To me you are an inspiration – you and every author out there who can create this amazing books that take me into a new and different world when I read. I admire the creativity and ability you have to paint the pictures I see.

      It has been a long struggle for me – 6 1/2 years since I fell – so this positive attitude was hard-earned through time and the assistance of some amazing people who taught me to cherish every moment and live each day to the fullest of your abilities. I would love to see more people take this approach to life but I don’t wish the road I had to get here on anyone!

  7. Heather you have such an amazing spirit, I can see why you have made so many friends. Your positive outlook is an inspiration to us all.

    • Thanks Layne – I consider myself blessed to have met so many people who appreciate my sense of humor and way of looking at the world. You are another one of those authors I have been lucky enough to meet and have the opportunity to read and review your book.

      How is Wolf doing in Colombia? I am excited for book two from you after I enjoyed book 1 so much! 🙂

  8. Heather, what a great post – I think I may be the “crazy” one you refer to :). As I have mentioned before, perhaps you should write, you know you would have lots of support from us if you decided to. Certainly, you are always welcome to pay my blog a visit too.

    • Lol Diane – all I will admit to is that you (like Daisy and so many others) have been an awesome friend and generous author who has asked me to read and review their book. As far as I am concerned, “crazy” is just another fun way to view the world!

      I just might take you up on that offer, Diane. I just might….

    • Thank you and Taylor, Michelle, Dawna and Amy too for all your wonderful comments. I am sure Heather will be touched deeply.
      Thankyou for supporting the blog by commenting.

    • Daisy is right – you guys are awesome! And in serious trouble if you make me cry. hehe

      Thank you all for being great friends back to me – each one of you makes my day brighter and easier in your own way. ❤

  9. That was beautifully said Heather! You are such an inspiration to me and I am proud to call you my friend! ❤

  10. *hugs Heather* I am constantly impressed with your attitude and your determination to make the best of all the difficulties life keeps sending you. We would all do well to take lessons from you in making lemonade.

Comments are closed.