Day 17 My guest is Cd Brennan

I am delighted to welcome the very lovely and talented Cd Brennan to the blog today.

An Evolution of Christmas Celebration

I was thinking on what to write for Daisy’s blog for a couple of weeks, following what other authors did and what I wanted to say about the holidays. My strongest impression at the moment is how much my Christmas celebrations have changed over the years.

I’ll start with when I was living overseas. My first Christmas away from my family I did end up scraping enough money together for the ticket home, but since it was so expensive and the travel was horrible that time of year, over the next 15 years abroad, I think I made it back to my folks only a couple of times at Christmas. Although a bit said for my mum and dad, I found other ways to keep festive.

Guiness Xmas

Christmas time when I lived in Scotland and Ireland meant Christmas parties and Christmas “drinks.” That meant dressing up to the nines and freezing my arse off to get out into the city pubs and clubs to meet up with different groups of friends, exchanging cards and small pressies and really having a jolly ol’ time (often getting pisshed drunk). This included the infamous office Christmas parties that no one did better than an economically sound Ireland (at the time). Honestly, my employers went all out and my mates and I ended up carousing ’til 4am around the streets of Dublin, singing our lungs out. Numb to the cold and rain, and rosy from the inside-out.

Christmas Day was quiet as my Scottish and Irish friends made their ways back to their own families, and I usually spent it with a boyfriend (if I had one), and sometimes his family (including grandparents!). And even though I missed my own back in the States, the new wonder and amusement of the different holiday kept me entertained and I wasn’t sad for long.

After that I moved to Australia with my now husband. And talk about a change in tradition! Even though the Australians still decorated the streets and houses, most often the trees were artificial and I just couldn’t “feel” Christmas there, as much as I tried. Often the day would sneak up on me, and I’d be like “oh, it’s Christmas!” Christmas day was spent in the pool or at the beach. Drinking cold beer started early and the bbq fired up and along with traditional ham, there were sausages and steaks, cold salads and King Prawns. ALWAYS seafood.

Last year, I moved my family back to Michigan where I grew up, and I have come full circle with Christmas. Snow and log fires. Lots of shopping and Christmas music. Cookie baking and a wreath on the door. A real Christmas tree for the presents to be piled for two little boys, waiting not-so-patiently for Santa’s arrival. A candlelight Christmas Eve service. Cut-out green and red paper chains and white snowflakes for the windows. With my children’s excitement, my own grows, back to what I remembered from my youth. And it’s lovely.

Michigan Xmas

Now, it’s pressie time, so one commenter will get their choice of either an eBook copy of Watershed OR an eBook ARC of A World Apart, to be released in March 2014.

I want to wish everyone a very Happy Christmas, and good health and happiness for 2014!

xoxo Cd Brennan

watershed

Author Bio

Having traveled and lived all over the world, Cd Brennan now talks with a strange accent, a mix of distant terminology, a blend of culturally cute but confusing euphemisms that leaves everyone looking at her with a blank stare. Luckily, her Australian husband (who she met in Ireland) and her two Aussie/Yankee sons have no problem understanding her – well, except for the word “NO”.

Now settled back “home” in Michigan, she enjoys reliving her glory days by writing about them. She considers the last fifteen years abroad the perfect research for her Love Where You Roam series; matchmaking women and men from different cultures, even different hemispheres, helping them find their true one across oceans of difference.

As destiny plays a hand in all the stories, Cd Brennan truly believes that what is for you, won’t pass you by. She hopes to inspire others to get out there: “Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” [Mark Twain]  And of course, fall in love.

Get in touch with her at http://www.cdbrennan.com

 

Blurb

She left home to find herself…and found love along the way.

Maggie isn’t looking for love on her backpacking trip through Australia. She’s got enough man troubles back in Ireland. Australia is her escape, a place of adventure where she can create memories to last a lifetime.

But some memories won’t be left behind.

Gray is ready to quit hiring backpackers to help with the work on his remote Queensland cattle station when Maggie turns up. She’s just passing through, but the connection they forge during the long nights herding cattle won’t be so easily cast aside.

CONTENT WARNING: A strong-willed Irish heroine, a stubborn Australian hero, and oceans of difference to bridge for love.

A Lyrical Press Contemporary Romance

Excerpt – Long

She couldn’t figure him, and this was the first chance they’d had to be alone since that night. She put on her best teasing smile. “How did a seasoned bushman like you let a bull get the best of ya?”

As soon as it came out of her mouth, she knew it was the wrong thing to say.

His brow furrowed, anger lighting his eyes. “It happens to the best of us.” He ripped another piece of bark from the tree and turned to go.

“Did you have a good time last night?” Maggie hurried on. “I mean, other than the incident with the bull.”

He shrugged. “It was all right. Did you?”

“It was brilliant. I had a fantastic time.”

“Yeah, it looked like you were having a good time with ol’ mate there.”

Maggie raised an eyebrow. “Jason?”

“Yeah, that skeg.”

He had noticed.

“What does that mean? Skeg?”

Gray shook his head. “It’s nothin’, forget it.”

Maggie’s temper flared. “I might not be an Aussie, oi-oi-oi,” she mimicked, “to know that it’s rude.”

Gray shrugged. “Anyway, looked like you guys were getting pretty close. Are you going to stay with him next?”

Now her temper kicked in. She pumped harder on the swing. If he would only step a few feet closer, she’d be able to get him with her legs. That’s what he needed, a kick in the bum.

“Maybe I will.” She raised her chin in defiance. “With Lizzy here, you don’t need my help anymore.”

Gray narrowed his eyes at her. “Who told you that you were any help?”

Her mouth fell open. How rude! He was treating her like he had when she first arrived.

Suddenly, a loud crack sounded, and then snap! The next thing Maggie knew, she was lying on the ground on her back, the rope in her hands.

Gray squatted down over her. “Are you okay?” He appeared genuinely concerned.

She let go of the ropes and let her head fall onto the grass. “I’m grand, just need to catch my breath a moment.” There she was lying on her back again, looking up at him, wondering what the hell had happened. This was twice now. Was it divine intervention? Maggie wasn’t superstitious like most of the Irish, but she was smart enough to know not to push her luck if things looked grim.

He hovered over her, and she could feel the energy building between them like it always did when they were close. He smelled of earthy oats. His eyes were darker in the shade, not the usual golden reflection from the sun. She gazed into them, feeling herself being pulled deeper into everything that was Gray. “Thank you for bringing my journal and phone to me at the hospital.”

His features softened. “No worries.”

She dropped her eyes away to play at the blades of grass, pinching individual stems and running them through her fingers. “You came like you promised.”

He grabbed her hand with both of his, forcing Maggie to return her gaze to him. He gently rubbed the outside of her hand with his thumb. “We ride out early tomorrow. Be saddled up by first light.”

He dropped her hand suddenly and stood to go.

Maggie yanked a bunch of grass from the ground and threw it at his retreating figure, letting her head thump onto the ground. God, was she in love with him.

 

Media Links

www.cdbrennan.com

https://www.facebook.com/CdBrennanauthor

www.twitter.com/CdBrennanauthor

www.goodreads.com/CdBrennan

www.pinterest.com/cdbrennan2012

Buy Links

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Watershed-ebook/dp/B00BNDFJX6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1362277880&sr=8-1&keywords=Watershed+Cd+Brennan

iTunes https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/wayershed/id593848163?mt=11

Barnes & Noble http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/watershed-cd-brennan/1114744167?ean=2940016262345

Kobo http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/Watershed/book-9Js6iPtS1EaZzf1UQuTjaQ/page1.html?s=jeMyN42T6UW3dzCXeWFfMQ&r=1

aworldapart

She left home to find herself…and found love along the way.

Lizzy travels to Scotland to track down her roots, hoping where she comes from will help her figure out where she needs to go. An Aussie girl through and through, tough as nuts and a bit wild, she believes there’s nothing so wonderful as a world seen through wine-tinted glasses…

…until she meets Hottie Hamish, Bridge of Allan’s most eligible bachelor.

Hamish is Lizzy’s polar opposite in every way. He’s serious, driven, and motivated, focused on becoming the youngest associate professor at the Glasgow School of Art. But he’s hiding a social phobia behind his gruff exterior that makes it almost impossible to connect with people…

…until he meets Lost Lizzy, all sunshine and lightness, an Australian beauty with the proverbial heart of gold.

Where they come from may be worlds apart, but atop a Scottish Munro, they begin to realize where they’re going is best traveled side by side.

 CONTENT WARNING: Graphic descriptions of haggis ingredients.

 A Lyrical Press Contemporary Romance

16 thoughts on “Day 17 My guest is Cd Brennan

  1. I love the sound of a white Christmas. I think it would be amazing to experience one. I also have to agree, Cd, that Christmas sneaks up on us Down Under. December is the busiest time of the year for us because it’s also the end of our school year. My kids are all finishing school today, and don’t return until February. Everyone is busy organising their 8-week summer holidays, and we all like to get away right on Boxing Day. Christmas just happens, and is here before we know it.

    You’re totally right about the food being different. It’s certainly too hot to be eating a ton of heavy and hearty Christmas food. I even tried all the hot food one year, but ended up with an extremely hot kitchen and house, and food to heavy for everyone’s tummies. Best to stick to the BBQ, the seafood and salads.

    It was interesting what you said about our artificial trees. We’re the same as Aussie, and prefer them over the real pine trees. The only reason why is because it’s just the wrong time of the year to have pine trees inside. It’s too hot and they die within days. A dead Christmas tree is kind of sad, so thus, we break out the artificial ones. We’ve adapted our Christmas to suit our hot summer weather, but it certainly does seem strange to visitors who arrive from the Northern Hemisphere. I had a family member visit from England one year, and she just looked confused all Christmas Day. She felt out of kilter wearing shorts and a t-shirt and slapping on sunscreen. When lunch was done and we wanted to walk to the beach to have a swim and cool off, she had to don a swimsuit, and she’d never done such a thing on Christmas Day before. It was so funny. A new tradition for her.

    Oooh, I can’t wait for your upcoming release. Looking forward to it.

    • Ya know Joanne, I never thought about Christmas trees that way and you’re so right. I lived way out in the desert for most of my time in Australia and I just thought the closest Christmas tree farm was probably Russia! But kidding aside, the artificial trees are better for the enviroment, yes? But boyo, I sure love a real tree. I think next year I’ll buy one that is in a big pot and plant it afterward. That way I’ll feel better about it!

    • Thanks to everyone for commenting. It’s been great to see so many comments on this post. I agree about real trees being so much more attractive and here in the UK I always try to buy a tree that has a rootball, they are a bit more expensive but can be planted in the garden after Christmas.

  2. what a lovely Christmas story. I can totally relate as I grew up in Chicago, and spent 25 yrs living in SW Fl. I have to say I’ll take a white, Sugar Sand beach over a driveway of heavy snow every time! reading your blurbs, I find I’m anxious to read both stories, and only wish they were available as real books and not just e-versions. I do not like my nook, and I Hate to clutter my hard drive with other peoples books, ( LOL) . I put the in case a publisher is reading… we want print!
    good luck to you , both with your latest book, and with moving back to Michican… BURRRRR

  3. Oh I just love reading about your experiences as you traveled and lived abroad, Cd! It’s so cool to hear how other places celebrate the holidays! Lovely post, thanks so much for sharing!

  4. What excellent memories, Cd. I’m not sure I’d enjoy Christmas in Australia. Oh, I’m sure I’d love Australia, but it’s warm there at Christmas. I spent one Christmas with my parents in Arizona and just couldn’t get in the spirit of the season. But it is always nice to be around family (even if they aren’t by marriage or by blood).

    • Yeah, I spent 5 Christmases in Australia, the last four with at least one kid, and I still couldn’t get into it. It seemed wrong somehow to have Christmas music piped through all the stores and decorations everywhere and then you step out into 40C sweltering heat. But I guess it’s what you know and grow up with. I am happier to be back in Michigan for Christmas again, although we’ve had a ton of snow!

Comments are closed.