Day 14 Three-fourths of a Christmas Tree.

I am delighted to have the wonderful author Haley Whitehall as my guest today. Welcome to the blog Haley.

Thank you, Daisy for having me. Your Advent Blog helps put us all in the holiday spirit!

Getting our Christmas tree also helps ring in my holiday season. It is a family tradition to go out and cut down our own Christmas tree. Some years there isn’t much snow on the ground. Then the expedition is rather easy. We just drive up into the hills in the truck listening to Christmas music all the way…My shyness goes away when I’m stuck in a car with a radio. I get the sudden urge to sing along. I guess I’m not as worried about getting the notes right when it comes to the holiday classics.

Once in the hills we tromp from tree to tree, shaking the snow of the branches, until we found the perfect one and cut it down. The search becomes more fun when there is a lot of snow on the ground. Then it is time for the snowmobile search!

We snowmobile through the trees looking for the most beautiful six foot tree we can find. Once we cut down the tree it has to be bundled in a tarp and tied to the back of one of the snowmobiles. We drive slower on the way back down, trying not to jostle the tree too much. But the hills aren’t smooth! There are lots of stumps and bumps and other hazards which seem unavoidable. The poor tree gets bounced around behind the snowmobile, and by the time we reach the truck the side of the tree facing the ground is usually bare.

That is how we get Three-fourths of a Christmas tree. The good news is the bare branches go toward the wall when we put it up so it isn’t that noticeable. After adding lights and all the ornaments even the bare branches that remain are quite festive.

I am a traditionalist. Most of my Christmas ornaments are antiques. The new ones I have bought are of the rustic variety. I guess that reflects me as an author. I write historical fiction/romance set during the Civil War era. So the Union drummer boy ornament is a must along with the paper angel and tree bark stars.

My giveaway today is a copy of Midnight Caller, (Moonlight Romance, Book 1). Leave me a comment about how you decorate for the holiday and your comment’s number might come up in the draw. 

midnightcaller cover

MIDNIGHT CALLER

When Emma Bennett’s husband dies in a carriage accident in 1865, she is released from her loveless, controlling marriage. Now she has a chance to find happiness and raise a family. But before she begins courting again she wants to experience her freedom. At the advice of the leading socialite in town, she takes a black lover to fulfill her sexual needs. His raw, masculine power awakens feelings she didn’t know existed. After the first touch she craves more.

Frederick works as a roustabout by day and moonlights as a prostitute. He knows better than to fall in love with his white client, but Emma enchants him the first time he calls on her. To keep them both safe, he works hard to put up barriers. Unfortunately, he can’t protect Emma from the slimy Mr. Hawthorne, who wants her as his bride. Frederick vows to keep her safe even if his forbidden love costs him his life.

 

Liquid Silver Books:http://www.lsbooks.com/midnight-caller-p819.php

Haley Whitehall: http://haleywhitehall.com/

Midnight Heat, (Moonlight Romance Book 2) coming January 6!

10 thoughts on “Day 14 Three-fourths of a Christmas Tree.

  1. Lovely post Haley, great to hear the traditions which all differ slightly. I love a real tree, but I don’t think I have ever found one quite as fresh as you have cutting it yourself, but as with you, it is in the choosing and sharing and a time for family.

  2. I have boxes of lovely ornaments in various themes, but since I’ve become an author all I have time to do is decorate my bay window with lights and stuffed animals in Christmas wear. No tree, no presents, no ornaments. Just one window of happy stuffed animals. Took15 minutes to create and even less to take down.

  3. I love a real Christmas tree, and for years forced my family to tromp out to the tree farm in search of the best one. But several years ago we had one that dried out too much, despite daily watering. By Christmas I worried about turning the lights on. We had people over New Years eve, and I turned the lights on for an hour. The next day, when I started removing lights and ornaments, I was terrified to discover blackened char marks. We went out the next day and bought an artificial tree. Now, I have to light scented candle to get the entire effect, but I sleep easier.

    • Thanks for commenting, Gemma. Yes, trees and heating don’t work too well, you do have to be careful. I prefer the live trees with a root ball in a pot of soil.

    • Oh my goodness, Gemma! I appreciate your cautionary tale. I haven’t had trouble with my trees drying out. *knocks on wood* A few of my family members are allergic to real trees and have artificial ones. I think it is a great idea to like a scented candle. The pine smell makes me think Christmas just as much as the decorations.

  4. I’m a traditionalist too, what comes to christmas decorating. I love my old decorations, ornaments. And the Christmas tree with the lights and the star on top of it.

Comments are closed.