Day 11 The year of the puddings.

In my mind, there are some Christmas’s that are identified with the name of an event. The one I have chosen to share with you today dates back some years to when I was at school. I believe I was fifteen, and in that era, I was lucky enough to have cooking lessons. The object of one November’s lesson was to make a Christmas pudding.

christmas-pudding-flames

My family were all pleased with that idea, and as my results in cooking had not been too bad so far to date, I was instructed to make several puddings. My grandmother wanted one, my aunt and my direct family too. We bumped up the quantities of the ingredients and I hauled a large basket to school on the day of my lesson. Along with all the ingredients, I also took three glass basins all belonging to my aunt, and in my head, the warning I was not to break said bowls.

Yes, you know what is coming. Almost like a self-fulfilling prophecy on the way up to the domestic science classrooms, which were at the top of the building, somehow I managed to fall up the steps with my large basket in my arms.

All three of the glass basins smashed. Fortunately, the broken glass didn’t contaminate my ingredients and I didn’t get more than a nick or two from the shards, but I seriously worried for the whole session about arriving home to tell the tale.

Despite all the angst and concern, I made the Christmas puddings, and my cookery teacher was kind enough to long term lend me three basins to take the puddings home in. She knew she wouldn’t get them back until January.

The one note of consolation I had over the event was the fact the Christmas Puddings turned out really well and were delicious, despite being stored in the borrowed bowls.

The image I’ve chosen to go with this little tale is one of how I recall Christmas pudding should look, liberally doused in brandy and flaming at the table.

I hope your Christmas pudding will be succulent, moist and a fabulous part of your Christmas meal.

 

My give away today to give one of you something to read while you recover from Christmas lunch is a copy of my story A Gentleman’s Folly.

AGentlemansFolly_600x800

16 thoughts on “Day 11 The year of the puddings.

  1. I am not a Christmas pudding fan but my grandma used to make a caramel sauce to go on top of her pudding. THAT I ADORED and I can remember taking my aunt’s whipped shortbread and dipping it in the cooled sauce. No one makes the sauce as good as Grandma did and my whipped shortbread is not as good as my Aunt’s no matter how hard I try.

    Thanks for the memories Daisy! I have a happy smile on my face as I write this. 😀

    • Thanks so much for commenting Cd. I’ll mail you my Christmas Pudding recipe and then you can make your own.
      It’s not hard mostly ifs just throw things in a bowl and stir, but it has to be in the right order, and according to
      my Gran it has to have a good ammount of brandy. 🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing your Christmas Pudding story. I’m glad it all turned out well.
    You gave me a smile and made me hungry this morning… The extent of my Christmas baking is an assortment of cookies. I’m afraid pudding would be a little too difficult for me.

    • Thanks so much for commeting Shiloh, I bet Christmas pudding is a bit strange to you, but truly it has a wonderful taste.
      I think I might post the recipe and then you can think about it.

  3. Great post, Daisy. While my family doesn’t indulge in the traditional Xmas pudding, we do love our desserts. My mum usually makes cheesecake and I do a bread pudding…because it’s foolproof. I don’t even attempt cookies because they all turn out black as night. I hope your Xmas is a delightful one!

  4. A lovely tale Daisy. A few years ago I baked a Christmas cake for a lovely Canadian friend of mine who took it to Canada for the Christmas, left it safe in her case and forgot about it. When she arrived back in England she declared she’d thrown it away because they worried it may have gone off! It was a difficult job to persuade her that Christmas cakes are supposed to mature for months and it was probably at its best having been fed with brandy for weeks before being given. Ah, the memories you invoke with your tales. Thanks Daisy.

    • What a shame she didn’t know. You’re right Christmas cake needs to mature, so does a good Christmas pudding. My Grandmother who had worked in a big house, you know the sort
      she said they made the Christmas Puddings in June. The alcohol content meant they matured in flavour and didn’t go off. Thanks so much for commenting, Diane.

    • Thanks for commenting, Virginnia. I can tell you I haven’t made another Christmas pud since. Ah, hot days and BBQ’s, ice cream
      would be more appropriate.

  5. Daisy, I’ve been unfortunate enough to break things in the kitchen, and it’s usually more than just eggs. At least you proved yourself as a baker. Great story.

Comments are closed.