Series, Serial…Say What?

My guest blogger today is the wonderful and talented Jennah Scott. Welcome Jennah.

There’s a new trend for writing serial novels, or in some cases series. But not in the traditional sense.

Serial novels are full-length novels broken down into small parts and published for your reading enjoyment. These small parts are typically published in shorter intervals, maybe one every week or every other week. After a few have been completed and made available the author may combine them into an omnibus edition.

I’ve done something similar, although mine is more of a mini-series than a serial. When you see a serial it’s usually somewhere between 30-40 pages. Kaarina’s Secret is a series of four short stories ranging between 100-120 pages.

The great thing about this new trend is that you can get books faster and read them in your free time without a lot of time commitment. Even better, if there’s a cliffhanger you won’t have to wait that long to see what happens next. I think this format opens up more opportunity for readers to participate in the development of the story since often times the author is writing as they publish.

If you’re looking for a little something different I recommend you check these out! There are books available now in all genres.

TB-medium

Blurb: When offered a position within the esteemed law firm of Virtanen and Associates, Kaarina Davidson couldn’t say no. Known for their exclusivity and revered for their ruthlessness, they are the best firm in Dallas. This was the job offer of a lifetime. Or so Kaarina thought.

Too soon she learns that the lawyers of Virtanen and Associates are more than meets the eye. They are Vampyyri, a supernatural sect who feed off the emotions of humans. Warned not to touch anyone, Kaarina is just trying to make a name for herself until she learns that the principle partner of the firm has a mission that doesn’t include finding justice for the clients of the firm. He intends to take control of the Vampyyri and disregard all rules that prevent humans from becoming walking zombies.

Kaarina’s about to learn she may be the only one who can stop the takeover. Will she take the easy way out and run? Or will Kaarina accept the challenge and become more than the lawyer she set out to be?

 

Here’s a preview of The Beginning Book #1 of the series:

 

When offered a position within the esteemed law firm of Virtanen and Associates, Kaarina Davidson couldn’t say no. Known for their exclusivity and revered for their ruthlessness, they are the best firm in Dallas. This was the job offer of a lifetime. Or so Kaarina thought.

Too soon she learns that the lawyers of Virtanen and Associates are more than meets the eye. They are Vampyyri, a supernatural sect who feed off the emotions of humans. Warned not to touch anyone, Kaarina is just trying to make a name for herself until she learns that the principle partner of the firm has a mission that doesn’t include finding justice for the clients of the firm. He intends to take control of the Vampyyri and disregard all rules that prevent humans from becoming walking zombies.

Kaarina’s about to learn she may be the only one who can stop the takeover. Will she take the easy way out and run? Or will Kaarina accept the challenge and become more than the lawyer she set out to be? This is book 1 in a 4 part series. 

 Chapter One:

I stared at the phone in my hand, the unknown number a stark reminder of what I’d just accepted. My tiny apartment closed around me as my vision narrowed in on the sole object I held. Slowly, my heart returned to a normal pace and my hands stopped quivering. An interview with Virtanen and Associates, tomorrow. The top legal firm in the State of Texas. Everyone in my graduating class wanted a chance to work for them. Even those who didn’t live in the state as a permanent resident were willing to move here. It didn’t matter to anyone that V & A never hired new associates. Okay, not never, but rarely. As in one every ten years. Besides working some of the most notable felony cases in the last few years, they had a reputation for taking care of their team.

 

One of my internships had been across the street in a state prosecutor’s office, so I had the privilege of seeing limos and other chauffeured vehicles stop at the curb throughout the day. Those who didn’t arrive with a driver pulled into the garage driving Aston Martins, Lamborghinis, and other luxury cars that made Camille, my 2001 Taurus, look like a heap of junk. Not that she wasn’t, but I liked to think I took good care of her and hoped she looked good on the road. Envy was the emotion of choice during that tortuous internship.

The spinning of my thoughts had slowed until the assistant’s words replayed in my head once more. “Ms. Davidson, we have reviewed your portfolio and would like to schedule an interview with you as soon as possible.”

Forming a coherent response had proven impossible. “Umm…yes?”

 “Very well. How does tomorrow at nine a.m. work?”

 “Okay,” I said. Or more like whispered. How she’d heard my response I wasn’t sure, but she confirmed the location and gave me a few other instructions then ended our call. While my gaze stayed locked on the screen of my phone, my legs moved on their own accord to my very tiny couch. As soon as my butt hit the cushion my brain came back on line.

 “Wait. I didn’t apply for Virtanen and Associates. I didn’t send them my portfolio.” Since I was alone my questions went unanswered, for the time being. I made a mental note to ask the next day. The school career placement department kept a copy of our portfolios on hand; maybe they’d passed it on. Although, I still wasn’t sure why they’d have done that without my permission or request.

 Eventually the weight of the opportunity came into clear focus. The top firm wanted me, Kaarina Davidson, brand new graduate, to interview for a spot on their legal team as a junior attorney. A dream come true, so fantastic I had a hard time believing the phone call had been real. I traced my parent’s phone number with my thumb.

 Should I call them? Dad would be proud of me, so would Mom, but I hadn’t spoken with them in a few months. At the start of my final semester they came to the decision it was time to enjoy retirement and do some traveling. Their first trip had been a month long excursion across Europe. It was a much-deserved vacation and I was proud of them for taking some time for away from home to unwind. But something in my gut held me back from sharing my news with them. Not fear of disappointment, never that.

 I shook my head. “This is nonsense. Of course they’d want to know.” I dialed their number and waited for one of them to answer.

 “Kaarina?” Dad asked.

 “Evening, Dad. How are you and Mom?”

 “Good. How are you, darlin’?” Both of my parents were born and raised in Texas and had a thick Texas accent, which I’d learned early on wasn’t the same as a southern accent. They adopted me as an infant. For a while we lived in Minnesota, but when I was ten my parents were ready to return to their true home. Somehow, I’d never developed the Texas twang.

 “Great. Is Mom around? Can you put her on speakerphone? I’ve got some exciting news to share with both of you.” The tone of my voice didn’t sound excited, even though I tried to force the emotion.

 “Of course she is. Sweetheart, Kaarina is on the phone and has something to tell us. Why don’t you come here?”

 I grimaced when he yelled for Mom without pulling the phone away. I waited and listened as my parents got situated. At one point Dad said he wasn’t sure what the news was and Mom asked if it was time. I raised my eyebrows, thankful they didn’t know I could hear them. What had they meant “if it was time?” In my twenty-two years of life, I’d never known them to keep anything from me. But the ominous feel of this moment made me wonder if there’d been a secret all along. And why I sense whatever they hid was tied to my real parents?

 Mom and Dad didn’t bring up my biological parents. I remembered asking about them as a child and teenager, but the only response I received was that they didn’t know them. Could that have been what they referred to? Did they actually know and chose to keep it from me? It didn’t make any sense, but parents knew their children best, right? They knew when I’d be ready to learn of my true origin.

 Finally, Mom spoke, “Good evening, dear. Your dad said you wanted to talk to us at the same time.”

 “I have an interview with Virtanen and Associates tomorrow.”

 Two gasps came through the phone followed by silence. No congratulations. No “That’s great, honey.” Not a single “We’re so proud of you.” What was going on? Weren’t parents supposed to go crazy when their only child told them she had an interview with the most desired law firm in the state?

 “Mom. Dad?” I began to wonder if our call had been disconnected.

 “You can’t go to the interview, Kaarina. Promise us you won’t go tomorrow,” Mom’s voice shook.

 “What? Why? Do you know about the firm?” Dad was a doctor. Mom was a teacher. As far as I knew, they had no connection at all to Virtanen and Associates. The firm was known for handling high-profile cases, so even dealing with them for my adoption didn’t make sense. “What did I miss?” I asked when neither of them spoke again.

 “Nothing, darlin’. Nothing at all. Your mom and I are very proud of you. For all the dedication and energy you put into becoming the very best lawyer you could be, we are beyond words with our joy.”

 The honesty of Dad’s sentiments came through the phone, but he held back. I didn’t know why, nor did I plan to promise Mom I wouldn’t go to the interview. Now, more than ever, I wanted to know about the mysterious firm of Virtanen and Associates. Tomorrow was my interview and I intended to do whatever it took to get the coveted title of Junior Associate.

Title: The Beginning (Kaarina’s Secret Book 1)

Genre: New Adult Paranormal Romance

Available Now:

Amazonhttp://www.amazon.com/dp/B00EUI4D2E

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-beginning-jennah-scott/1116790517?ean=2940148474531

J.Scott

Bio:  Born and raised in Texas, Jennah is a transplant to Missouri long enough ago she should probably consider that her hometown. But she will forever be a Texan. She loves to write any story that will make a reader smile, laugh, and maybe even cry (although you won’t ever hear her admit that she cries). Whether the next story she writes is contemporary, urban fantasy, LGBT, or whatever other crazy idea she comes up with, there will always be love and romance in the midst of trials and turmoil.

When she’s not writing you can find her on Twitter, with her family, or buried in a book trying to escape reality for just a minute.

2 thoughts on “Series, Serial…Say What?

Comments are closed.