Tag Blog.

200x187xblog-hop-two.tag blog hop

Hi everyone.

This Tuesday’s blog is in answer to someone tagging me in a froggy blog hop. Thanks, Sofia and to Sotia too. I’m linking back to you both as well.

296x170xtag-youre-it. thing

So, now that I’m it, I’ll answer the questions.

What are you working on right now?

Today I am preparing this blog post, working to ready a new submission in response to call for submissions, and I hope to get another chapter or two of my current story completed before the day is over. The story I am working on is the sequel to my werewolf story Timeless.

Timeless

After six months working on my Historical story A Gentleman’s Folly.

AGentlemansFolly_600x800

I am enjoying the opportunity of working in the paranormal genre again and stalking the corridors of an old country house with my leading characters.

 

How does it differ from other works in its genre?

This is a werewolf story that is also a passionate love story. I wouldn’t personally say it’s different from all other stories in the paranormal genre, but if I go with the comments from a review of Timeless, then it has got unique elements to it. You can see the review on my website here. http://daisybanksnovels.yolasite.com/the-books.php

 

Why do you write what you do?

This question made me smile. I write because the stories are in my head. I write because I love to write. I write because I must.

Some of you might wonder if I am losing the plot somewhere, but no I don’t think so. It is very difficult to explain the motivation for writing. It’s certainly not a search for wealth, though a bit would be nice, nor is it a quest for glory. I know people have heard of my name, but that’s not why I write.

One of the reasons I write is because I want to give pleasure and entertainment to readers. I work hard to try to do it in the best way I currently know how.  The other reasons are well; it’s a bit like asking why do you breathe? I can’t help but do it.

Each story I write takes me on an adventure, if it’s a historical it’s research where I use the historical back-drop to reinforce my story. If it’s a paranormal story I weave myth and legend, hopes and dreams into the story. If I write fantasy I can let my imagination truly fly and build other worlds for readers to hopefully enjoy.

The one basic principle is, I love writing, and presently have the ideas to create stories. When the ideas stop then I suppose I won’t right anymore. Frankly, I hope that doesn’t happen for a very long time yet.

 

 

How does your writing process work?

When I first began writing as an adult I’d simply write ideas as they came. I started writing short snippets and a bit like a dot to dot pattern I began to join some of them up into tiny short stories. Things are rather different now, as in addition to writing, there are other activities like blogging to attend to.

When I indulge my imagination and I simply sit at the keyboard and write it is a very sweet experience. I can’t just write though, there are other tasks to be done and I am often more focussed on those individual tasks to help promote a book.

I have critique partners who help me prepare a new story. I send a couple of chapters per time to them so my friends can hack and slash, and tell me what doesn’t work. I also spend time critting in return. I find the critique process helpful.

When I get my chapters back and go over them the story rolls on. Sometimes this is a deliciously wonderful process, sometimes it can be very demanding, especially if I am trying a new kind of idea.

The final part of the process is to write the words, The End. I always do write those words even if a publisher doesn’t want them and I have to delete them later before I submit a story. I think to write ‘The End’ finally convinces me the story is done.

I try to leave a new story for a few days or even weeks before rereading it and editing it as best I can before it gets submitted to a publisher. Not everything gets submitted straight away, some stories wait awhile before I am happy enough with them to submit. Hopefully, I get the process and timing right for each story I send off and it is accepted and I get a contract.

Then the next part of the process rolls on.

Do I expect every story I write to be published? No, for many different reasons I know that won’t happen. There are some stories I doubt I would ever submit to a publisher, others I regard as my learning pieces and keep for the sentiment behind them, some I know are not right for the current market, but I enjoyed writing them all none the less.

Now it’s my turn to tag someone.

I am sending the Tag You’re It badge to Diane Saxon and to jj Keller.

4 thoughts on “Tag Blog.

Comments are closed.