Day 28 with Daisy.

 Day 28 of 30 days with Daisy.

AGentlemansFolly_600x800

 

This post will be a little different and here’s why. Tomorrow you get to read a free chapter of my new book A Gentleman’s Folly. I’ll also be giving away an ARC copy to one reader.

Monday is the release day of the book and I will be here celebrating. One book will be offered to commentators. To compliment the book there is also a vintage teacup purchased in the antique shop in Much Wenlock, Shropshire, when I was shopping with Diane Saxon. To win the cup you need to give me a recipe for the Tea with Daisy page and give me a contact address. I’ll select a winner on Friday next week.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 Therefore today a few stats and thoughts on 30 days with Daisy this far.

To the question: Did I prepare all this before I began it? The answer is no. Every post was written the day before or even the morning it went live. You can tell by the flaws.

What I learned early is that none of you look at my books page. I have to do something about that.

The most popular post was; Day 4

The least popular post was: Day 14

The scariest day was: Day 12

The Norwegians joined in looking at the blog on the 22nd many thanks guys.

The one day there were more Australians reading the blog was day 19.  I think they’d been told to do it for homework.

The post I enjoyed writing most was the one on Matthew Boulton.

The day the stats made me smile was day 13.

During my experiment writing this blog I have written approximately 30 thousand words and stopped feeling nauseas every time a blog goes live. Therapy and who knew it.

Finding free images to use has always been the challenge and taken much of my time. The worst was during the early posts as I struggled to find anything I could show you. I learned new things and am glad of it as I’ll be able to share more with you in other blogs in the future.

The thing that kept me going when I was struggling mid month was the comments from people. I have learned if I read a blog I will always comment in respect for the author’s work, only real tricksey log-in stuff prevents me in a few places, actually one. I have also learned I will always reply to comments even if I’m a day late and I will always answer the questions commentators ask, especially about historical stuff.

I have to say special thanks to

Sunny who commented and asked questions almost daily.

Mae Clair, Virginnia, jj Kellar, Cd and everyone who kept me going.

I hope readers enjoyed the posts and you will return to the blog tomorrow for a free chapter read.

Do drop by on Monday as well to help me celebrate the release day of A Gentleman’s Folly.

 

Xx  Daisy B

 

14 thoughts on “Day 28 with Daisy.

  1. Hi Daisy: here is a recipe for Ginger bread, to have with your afternoon tea.
    4ozs butter, 2 tablespoons golden syrup, three quarters of a cup of sugar, 2 cups of flour, 2 tsp of ground ginger, 1 tsp mxed spice, 2 tsp baking soda, 1 cup cold strong tea, 1 tsp coffee essence (if available) or 2 tsp instant coffee dissolved in a little of the cold tea.
    Melt butter and golden syrup, add sugar and coffee essence. Sift in Flour, ground ginger, mixed spice and baking soda. Mix slightly then add cold tea. Mix well. Put mixture into a greased loaf tin.
    Bake at 180C or 350F in a medium oven, for 45 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean when poked in the middle.
    Leave to cool before cutting and serving with a cup of tea. Can be buttered if desired.
    Cheers Virginnia

  2. I’ve been so lax in leaving comments and I can’t believe the month is almost over already! This has been a fabulous and epic challenge for you, and I have nothing but respect for your ability to blog consistently well over a prolonged period.
    PS – love the stats in this post, and I’m already gazing at that cup and saucer with envy 🙂

    • Glad to see you here, Sofia. Epic kind of feels right. 🙂 The days have flown by. Do drop by to read the free chapter.
      If you want the cup leave me a recipe for cake go have with afternoon tea.

  3. Daisy, I’m even more impressed now that I know you were writing on the fly. Each post that I’ve been able to check in on has been delightful. Congratulations and happy book birthday to you.

  4. Wow, for planning your posts the day before or the morning of you have done a wonderful job, Daisy! (I totally feel lacking in the blogging department now, lol) I have really enjoyed reading all of your posts and learning about the 18th century. Yay it is almost release day! Wishing you much success with A Gentleman’s Folly. 🙂

    • Many thanks Haley. I’m grateful for the support and for you comments. I’ve enjoyed
      all your blogs that I’ve read so don’t do yourself down. Don’t forget to call back tomorrow
      to read a chapter from the story and do come by Monday and help me celebrate.

  5. Daisy, this has been an exceedingly interesting adventure for you and your readers, and although I have not had chance to visit every single day, I have read every single post on a catch-up at times.

    Well done, I love all the information you have given us and it does go to show how much research authors need to carry out for accuracy. Although I had to close my eyes when it came to the birthing chair details.

    The tea cup is so delicate and having seen it in person I know how exquisite it is. What a lovely prize.

    Thank you for the education and best of luck on release day 🙂

    • Thanks so much for your support Diane, I am very grateful for it.
      Without you I might not have got the idea and gone ahead with the project.
      Don’t forget to come back for tomorrow and Monday. They should both be exciting.

  6. Thanked for having a big Mouth. Now there’s a first! rofl… your welcome, Daisy. I don’t know what you mean,” visit my book page.” but once again, all your roads should lead to facebook… like the rest of the world my dear. best of luck now and forever .

Comments are closed.