Day 19 A devotee of the tea leaf.

AGentlemansFolly_600x800

 

 

Welocme to all the new followers of the blog and of course all those of you who have been following each day.

A devotee of the tea leaf.

 

My heroine Katherine in A Gentleman’s Folly drinks copious amounts of tea. She readily admits she is a devotee of the tea leaf.

Tea drinking in the 18th century was as Katherine says, ‘a sign of a person of the first quality,’ and something that required a great deal of civility. This is perhaps the first dawning of the manners for the later regency period.

As it is Katherine and her friend have specific requirements for taking tea.

A tea table such as this one below. I like the lattic work on this.

653px-English_mahogany_tea_table,_after_Thomas_Chippendale,_c._1730,_HAA

A tea caddy with a lock, to keep the contents safe and secure was a must have. Servants were known to steal tea if they thought they could get away with it. Tea was expensive. Servants were allowed to sell off dried used leaves as a perk of their job and a supplement their income. This tea caddy below is a beautiful example.

tea caddy

A tea pot along with a jug or kettle for boiling water.

Tea bowls.

Spoons.

sugar cone

Sugar to take with the tea. In the 18th centruy sugar came in paper wrapped sugar cones also known as sugar loaves. For use at the table the sugar was pinched out into lumps, or shaved off the cone to make something similar to ground sugar.

 

You’ll notice some things you might imagine were needed are not on the list. This is because tea cups and tea sets as a whole were only just being invented. I’ll tell you more about them in tomorrow’s post about the Lunar Society.

7 thoughts on “Day 19 A devotee of the tea leaf.

  1. I love tea, but am more partial to it in the winter. Most afternoons I’ll make a cuppa and have it light and sweet (with cream and sugar). That tea caddy was gorgeous. I just have a plain bamboo box for tea bags and an airtight canister for loose tea. Great information here.

  2. I adore tea! I have to drink coffee at work to stay alert, but at home it’s hot tea with milk and Splenda. Loved this post, Daisy. I had no idea the sugar cones were so massive! excellent information!

  3. Tea appears to have been serious business (although I guess it still is to some degree). The sugar cones look huge! When I do drink tea, I don’t like to add anything to it (cream, sugar, lemon) although I would imagine the taste was likely much stronger then?

    Love the name of the “Lunar Society.” I can’t wait to see what that’s all about!

    • Thanks for dropping by Mae Clair. Yes, tea became the most fashionable drink in the country. All the paraphanelia that went with it
      created a massive business. Yes the sugar cones were about a foot tall. I think the way you drink it is the way it was drunk originally, milk or lemon came
      later. Sugar and tea seem to have gone together from the beginning..
      The Lunar Society is great. Last nights full moon reminded me I ought to blog about them.

Comments are closed.