Thirty days with Daisy.

Welcome to thirty days with Daisy. No, don’t worry it’s not a prison sentence.

This September I will blog each day about the era of the mid 1750’s in England. I’ll be talking about fashions, foods, customs, art, music, architecture, and give you as much gossip as I can share.

Why would I take on such a challenging task?

All this is so you will feel at ease with the eighteenth century, the period in which my newest book is set. I hope if you have never read a historical story before, this will be your first. If you have read historical stories in the past I hope this will reconnect you with your enjoyment of them.

Along with my blog pieces there will be a one copy give-away of one of my stories each week.

Week 1. Fiona’s Wish

Week 2. Timeless

Week 3. Your Heart My Soul

Week 4. A Gentleman’s Folly. (This is provisional on any changes to publication date to be advised from the publisher.)

There will also be an additional special prize in week 4. 

I’ll let you know what challenge you’ll have to meet to gain a chance at winning a book. I promise there will be no walking on coals.

???????????????????????????????

Speaking of coal, 1754 is a year when you could heat your London or Bath town house with coal. This fuel was delivered weekly to your house by a coal merchant. The sacks were tipped out and stored in the coal shed, or coal ‘ole, by the wagon driver and his boy.

If you had servants, every day they would remove ashes from yesterday’s fires, clean and polish the grates, lay new fires and light the fire at the time you deemed best.

If you didn’t have enough money for a servant to do the job you did it yourself.

The kind of hearth you might have had in 1754 would be large enough to have fire-dogs as well as a fire basket and most could take logs as well as coals. The Maunder Minimum left temperatures cool and everyone welcomed a good sized hearth. If you had no room for logs but had to use split wood along with your coal then I’m afraid your hearth wouldn’t be in one of the better houses.

hearth

In September 1754, Katherine Bescell, the heroine in my story A Gentleman’s Folly discovers this truth for herself. What with the price of coal and her lack of income; she’s a worried girl.

Do drop by again tomorrow and you can find out where young people like my hero and heroine might have met.

One thought on “Thirty days with Daisy.

Comments are closed.