Second chances to learn. A guest post by Allyson Lindt.

I’m really pleased to welcome Liquid Silver Books Author Allyson Lindt to my blog today.

Second Chances… To Learn

When I was in school some things came naturally to me. We had an English class when I was a junior where the teacher let us practice our creative writing. I always had a story idea. She wasn’t so fond of the fact that I could take weeks to write a single story, but I maintain she didn’t understand my desire to be a novelist someday.

I wasn’t about the 2 page short story, I wanted an epic tale of horror and grief (because I was an emotional teenager and everything was horror and grief back then).

Other classes absolutely made my brain want to explode in a shower of numbers and angles. trigonometry, geometry, practical physics… None of those things made sense to me. Since then though, some of my favorite jobs have been statistical data analytics. Using numbers to tell stories.

I don’t know if it’s because I like the idea of telling stories however I can, or because I like the visual of numbers sitting around a campfire spinning tales, but whatever it is, not all math terrifies me anymore.

What kind of lessons frustrated you when you were younger but make life easier and/or more fun now?

In Holding Her Close, both of the main characters have things to learn about love and growing up.

                                                             17926650                 

It’s been years since Rae talked to her high school sweetheart. But running in the same circles –her best friend is his business partner – has caught up to her. Rae is seeing Zach everywhere, including her explicit, rampant imagination. When he proposes a single night together for closure, she hopes it will be just what she needs to move on.

The past and the present intertwine as “Just this once” becomes “Just one more time.” Especially when Rae discovers the solution to Zach’s business problems. Can he trust her enough to risk his heart and livelihood a second time, or will experience convince him to walk away from everything?

               

Excerpt:

 Rae fumbled with her keys, hands shaking with irritation. She didn’t know if it was with him for following her to her door, or with herself because she was having such a hard time walking away. “Guys like you don’t end up with girls like me. Wanna know why?”

 

“After a statement like that? Probably.” Zach’s smooth tone never wavered.

 

She didn’t dare turn to face him, even though she felt him right behind her. The last thing she needed to see was his expressions. Sexy, attractive, smug. She shook the words out of her head, key scraping the lock on the deadbolt. Infuriating.

 

She forced her tone to remain calm. “Life has taught you a dangerous lesson. You’ve learned the right amount of self-confidence tinged with a smattering of arrogance goes a long way. You use it to get your way, you don’t see when it’s hurting people, and you refuse to recognize when it’s not appropriate.

“I assume there’s a point to the insults?” His voice still didn’t give anything away. There was no negotiation or seduction in the flat question. Or anger. Or anything.

The keys slipped from her hands, hitting the concrete with a clang. She cursed whatever god was listening and crouched to grab them. Her fingers brushed something warm. His hand. He had beaten her to the dropped keys. She swallowed and stood, turning to face him and waiting for him to hand them back over.

 

He stepped closer, reaching around her. There was something in his eyes. A hint of amusement maybe amid the irritation? His breath smelled like peppermint gum and cigarettes. “Let me help.”

 

The presumptuous ass had blocked her in. Her temperature rose another notch and fury pumped through her. “Does it ever get old, wearing that gaudy painted mask meant to keep everyone at bay until you’re ready to reel them in? You’re looking for someone who supports you, who hobnobs with the best of them, and who looks just as good in her evening dress as she does sliding out of it.”

 

He slid the key into the lock and turned it without a problem. A smile crept across his lips and he tilted his head closer. “You’re not that woman, then?”

Buy on Amazon.com: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DFTUP94/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00DFTUP94&linkCode=as2&tag=itsalwabothej-20

Find Allyson Lindt

Website: http://allysonlindt.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Allyson-Lindt/116062025108551

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AllysonLindt

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7024176.Allyson_Lindt

Amazon author page: https://www.amazon.com/author/allysonlindt

About Allyson Lindt

AllysonPicture3

Allyson Lindt is a full-time database developer and a fuller-time contemporary romance author. She was lucky enough to marry her muse and soul mate. Their cats are their children, and when they’re not spending way too much time gaming, they’re building new worlds together. She loves a sexy happily-ever-after and helping deserving cubicle dwellers find their futures together.

19 thoughts on “Second chances to learn. A guest post by Allyson Lindt.

  1. Your comments remind me of my first attempts at writing and I was equally confused with geometry, but loved algebra. Now I’m a grownup I only have to balance the housekeeping. If I’d known this I wold have skipped maths and stuck to English classes. Enjoyable excerpt!

  2. I hated history classes at school. It was all lists of dates and KIngs & Queens… nothing was relevant and all of it dusty and uninteresting. Years later as an adult, I started reading the historical fiction of Sharon Penman and realised what I’d been missing all those years 🙂
    Holding Her Close is an amazing read 🙂

    • I too love Sharon Penman’s writing. The Sunne in Splendour has to be my favourite.
      It’s tragic when history is taught so poorly that people are turned off from it.
      Thank goodness you rediscovered the subject.

    • Sofia, I was the same with History, until I had the most amazing history teacher – but it’s partly because his lectures were as much theatrics as learning. I guess I enjoy a well told story 😀 And thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed the book (I’m kind of fond of it too) 😀

  3. This sounds like a wonderful story and has been added to my TBR list. I love your personal romance…charming and sweet HEA.

Comments are closed.